News: Department of Public Health and Environment receives 2015 Clean Air Excellence Award

Christopher Dann, Air Pollution Control Division | 303-692-3281 |
DENVER – The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment’s efforts to reduce emissions from oil and gas activities received one of seven 2015 Clean Air Excellence Awards presented today by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in Washington, D.C. The awards recognize cutting edge efforts across the country to cut harmful air pollution.
Air Pollution Control Division Director Will Allison accepted the award for Regulatory and Policy Innovations on behalf of the department. In 2014, the Colorado Air Quality Control Commission approved comprehensive changes to rules governing oil and gas activities that were developed by the division with input from varied and often conflicting interests.
“Through Gov. John Hickenlooper’s leadership and the tireless efforts of our Air Pollution Control Division, Colorado took a big step toward solving an important issue facing our state,” said Dr. Larry Wolk, executive director and chief medical officer at the department. “Colorado has the first-ever regulations designed to detect and reduce methane emissions and is home to the cleanest and safest oil and gas industry in the country. We’ve done this while encouraging economic growth and preserving jobs.”
Allison said, “The department shares this award with the environmental community, the energy industry and other stakeholders who worked so hard to make this happen. The EPA is looking for pioneers committed to increasing public understanding of air pollution and improving air quality. We try to live up to that every day in Colorado.”
The EPA Clean Air Excellence Awards program was established in 2000 at the recommendation of the Clean Air Act Advisory Committee. It recognizes both organizations and individuals. This year’s recipients range from a public education program in Delaware to comprehensive air quality and health services for Alaskan tribes. For more information on the awards, please visit: .