Meaningful use guidance for syndromic surveillance


The department will not accept syndromic surveillance data in 2017 and 2018. Tri-County Health Department (Adams, Arapahoe and Douglas counties), Denver Health (Denver County), Jefferson County Public Health and Boulder County Public Health are accepting syndromic surveillance data from eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals in their jurisdictions.


The following facilities will not be asked to report syndromic surveillance data this year:
  • Eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals in Denver, Adams, Arapahoe, Douglas, Jefferson and Boulder counties that don't have an emergency department or urgent care department.
  • All eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals not in Denver, Adams, Arapahoe, Douglas, Jefferson or Boulder counties.
  • All eligible providers.

Facilities that meet the above criteria should download this documentation letter.

Declarations of readiness

Andrew Horvath
Electronic laboratory reporting coordinator
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment