Epi-pen law for businesses
Colorado law allows businesses to stock and administer epinephrine auto-injectors, including EpiPen, Auvi-Q, or other types of auto-injectors. Under the law, an employee or agent at a business may use an auto-injector on any individual believed to be experiencing anaphylaxis.
Be an authorized entity, including all businesses other than a school or hospital.
Designate an employee or agent to complete required training on epinephrine auto-injectors.
Maintain proper storage, maintenance, control and oversight of the epinephrine auto-injectors.
Report the use of the epinephrine auto-injectors by any employees or agents.
All businesses that maintain epinephrine auto-injectors are required to staff responsible for this device to complete a nationally recognized training course. The course must issue a certificate and include these topics:
How to recognize signs and symptoms of severe allergic reactions including anaphylaxis.
Standards and procedures for storage and administration of an epinephrine auto-injector.
Emergency follow-up procedures.
An approved course can be found through the American Red Cross:
Training is also available through the following organizations:
Desert Mountain Medicine (as part of Wilderness First Aid (16 hours), Wilderness Advanced First Aid (40 hours), Wilderness First Responder (80 hours), Wilderness First Responder Refresher (24 hours) and Wilderness EMT Upgrade (54 hours)): desertmountainmedicine.com.
Wilderness Medical Associates International training courses offer a section on allergies that includes a module on the use of epinephrine auto-injectors for the treatment of anaphylaxis. The courses include: Wilderness First Aid (16 hrs), Wilderness Advanced First Aid (36 hr), Bridge (36 hrs), Wilderness First Responder (70 hrs), WEMT Upgrade (45 hrs), Open Recertification (24 hrs), Wilderness Advanced Life Support (36 hrs) Wilderness Medical Elective (80 hrs) and all iterations of them: www.wildmed.com.
- Wilderness Medicine Outfitters offers anaphylaxis training courses, both online and in-person. The courses include: Wilderness First Aid (16 hrs), Wilderness Intermediate First Aid (24 hrs), Wilderness Advanced First Aid (40 hrs), on-line Advanced Wilderness First Aid (48 hrs), Wilderness First Responder/WEMT module (76 hrs), Wilderness Advanced Life Support (40 hrs), free non-certificated online Anaphylaxis class and certificated online Anaphylaxis class: wildernessmedicine.com/epi.
- Colorado Mountain College training courses offer an allergy/anaphylaxis module on the use of epinephrine auto-injectors in the following courses: Wilderness First Aid (16hrs), Wilderness First Responder (80 hrs), WEMT Upgrade (50 hrs), Wilderness First Responder Recertification (24 hrs) and EMT (200 hrs): coloradomtn.edu.
- MenuTrinfo offers a range of services including allergy and gluten-free training, kitchen audits, menu labeling, and nutrition help desk services. AllerTrain Entity training is for laypersons who would administer epinephrine in emergency anaphylaxis situations when assistance from medical professionals and first responders is not readily available. https://www.allertrain.com/allertrain/allertrain-allertrain-u.
- LifeLearnU.com offers emergency epinephrine injection training for caregivers. Caregiver class offerings include: Full Qualified Medication Administration Person (QMAP) Training (8 Hours), QMAP Refresher Training (2.5 hours), CPR/First Aid (5 hours). A certificate of training is provided after course completion. Independent emergency epinephrine injection training is available for organizations by request. Training is open to licensed and unlicensed caregivers and other individuals interested in the educational opportunity. LifeLearnU.com.
- Longleaf Wilderness Medicine offers includes training in allergies, anaphylaxis and the use of epinephrine auto-injectors as part of the Wilderness First Aid (16 hours), Wilderness First Responder (76 hours) and Wilderness First Responder - Recertification (24 hours) classes. longleafmedical.com
The use of epinephrine auto-injectors at your business must be reported.