We implemented a voluntary credentialing process and registry to support the preparation, growth and sustainability of the unlicensed health navigator workforce in Colorado.
The credentialing program is based on competency statements that represent generalist entry-level core competencies for unlicensed health navigators as determined by the department in consultation with several advisory committees comprised of key members of the public. The competency statements describe the desired knowledge, skills and behaviors that enable health navigators to perform successfully in the practice setting. Training programs must teach to these competencies as part of becoming CDPHE-Recognized.
- Prerequisite 1: Complete a recognized training program - effective October 2018.
- Prerequisite 2: Pass a competency assessment.
Training waiver: Through May 31, 2020, navigators who don’t meet prerequisite 1 but fall under either of the following two groups are eligible to take the competency assessment without having to complete coursework through a recognized training program:
Individuals who completed training with PNTC (Level One course only) or Otero Junior College between June 29, 2015 and June 29, 2018
Individuals who have experience as an unlicensed navigator of two (2) years or approximately 4,000 hours (paid and/or volunteer) in a health care setting* between June 29, 2013 and June 29, 2018.
- Fill out this brief application.
- Navigators who apply based on experience must also have a supervisor complete this verification of experience and submit it to CDPHE_Health_Navigator@state.co.us before registering for an assessment.
- Register for the competency assessment no later than 30 days prior to the event. Please note: failure to complete the above steps will result in the cancellation of your registration.
Apply to be a CDPHE-recognized training program
*The health care agency may not have used the title “health navigator”; however, the application must include verification of proficiency in the role and core competencies by the navigator’s supervisor or the agency’s human resources department.
Because the credentialing program is not required by law, the program does not prohibit non-credentialed health navigator training programs from operating or prohibit non-credentialed individuals from using the title health navigator. Individuals who hold a Colorado license in the health professions are not eligible for this program.