School required vaccines
Back to immunization policy and Board of Health rules
Colorado law (Board of Health rule 6 CCR 1009-2) requires all students attending Colorado schools and licensed child cares to be vaccinated against certain diseases, unless an official exemption form is filed. A complete list of required immunizations is available here.
Beginning July 1, 2016, new official exemption forms are required and non-medical exemptions must be submitted more often:
Pre-kindergarten children, will submit official exemption forms at each age when vaccines are due. The rule requires the filing of a non-medical exemption form at 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, 12 months and 18 months of age.
Kindergarten through 12th grade students, will submit exemption forms each year.
Medical exemptions only need to be submitted once. Options for submitting medical and non-medical exemption forms can be found on the Vaccine Exemptions webpage.
Schools and childcare centers are required report immunization and exemption data for their enrolled students to us by December 1 of each year. We will be sharing this information with the public through our website in Spring 2017. Guidance for child cares and schools to calculate immunization and exemption rates is posted here.
Parents wishing to review scientific, evidence-based information about vaccines can view the Immunization Education Module. The module describes the benefits and risks of vaccinations as well as provides many resources for parents.