Approved indoor burning devices

Certain brands and models of burning devices are exempt from the regulation that bans indoor burning in the seven-county metro Denver area on air quality Action Days, and may be exempt from other municipal or county restrictions on burning devices. Check with your local jurisdiction for more information. These devices have been approved by Colorado or certified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and are designed to emit low levels of pollution.  

 

Burning Restrictions

Indoor wood burning restrictions must be followed in the restricted area unless the device is exempt. Restrictions apply November-March during air quality Action Days. The restricted area includes Denver, Boulder, Broomfield, Douglas, and Jefferson counties below 7,000 feet and areas west of Kiowa Creek in Adams and Arapahoe counties.

 

Exemptions

If any of the following are true, a device is exempt from burning restrictions:

  • Device is on a list of certified or approved indoor burning equipment:
    • Phase II EPA-certified stoves.
    • Colorado-approved pellet stoves.
    • Colorado-approved masonry heaters.
  • Device is located above 7,000 feet.
  • Device is not certified or approved, but indoor burning is the primary source of heat and an exemption letter has been issued from the state or local jurisdiction.
 
The law about indoor burning restrictions