Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact


Colorado was the first state in the nation to pass into law the Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact or REPLICA, which will help facilitate legal interstate movement of credentialed EMS providers. Sixteen states have enacted legislation and joined the compact: Colorado, Texas, Idaho, Kansas, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming, Mississippi, Georgia, Alabama, Delaware, Nebraska and South Carolina, Missouri, and New Hampshire.

Benefits of the compact include providing a framework, under authorized circumstances, for day-to-day movement across state lines by eliminating the need for dual or multiple certifications, facilitating cross-state responses to large-scale emergencies such as fires and floods, and ensuring consistent screening and standards between member states such as background checks and National Registry competencies.

The compact’s commission had its first meeting in October 2017, and is now meeting reqgulary. The commission is primarily focused on creating rules, policies and procedures related to cross-border practice for EMS Providers.

Interstate Commission for EMS Personnel Practice
Commission public notices, meetings, calendar and documents

Commission news
News releases and a statement on REPLICA status

About the interstate compact and commission, toolkits, news and blog