Wage Information

We will send a form called Statement of Wages and Possible Benefits that shows how much you earned in the base period and how much you may receive in benefits. If you did not earn at least $2,500 during the standard base period, you may be eligible to use an alternate base period if you earned wages during this period (the most recent four completed calendar quarters). 

Some additional factors we review while processing your claim include vacation, severance, and pension; workers’ compensation; work in other states; federal civilian wages; and military wages

Wages to Determine Benefit Amounts

You must have earned at least $2,500 during the standard base period. A standard base period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim. A calendar quarter is equal to 3 month segments of the year beginning in January.

QTR 1: Jan, Feb, Mar
QTR 2: April, May, June
QTR 3: July, Aug, Sep
QTR 4: Oct, Nov, Dec

For example, if you file your claim in March 2015, the last five completed calendar quarters are [2013 - Q4] [2014 - Q1] [ 2014 - Q2] [2014 - Q3] [2014 - Q4]. This does not include the current quarter you filed your claim, because it has not been completed (March is at the end of the first quarter in 2015). The base period would be the fourth quarter in 2013 through the third quarter of 2014. 


We will send a form called Statement of Wages and Possible Benefits that shows how much you earned in the base period and how much you may receive in benefits. If you did not earn at least $2,500 during the standard base period, you may be eligible to use an alternate base period if you earned wages during this period (the most recent four completed calendar quarters).

Some additional factors we review while processing your claim include vacation, severance, and pension; workers’ compensation; work in other states; federal civilian wages; and military wages.

Vacation, Severance, Pension or 401(k)

If you received vacation, severance, pension, 401(k), or some other form of payment from your employer as the result of your separation, this may reduce or delay your benefit payments. You will receive a Notice of Decision if this happens.

For example, if you receive vacation pay because you were separated, your claim will be delayed for weeks equal to the amount of the payment you received. This delay begins the week you become eligible for benefit payments.

Workers’ Compensation

If you received workers’ compensation payments, you must contact the Customer Service Center at (303) 318-9000 or 1-800-388-5515 (outside Denver-metro area).

Work in Other States

If you worked or have wages in more than one state, you may choose to use these wages on your Colorado unemployment claim. In order to use out-of-state wages on your claim, you must have wages in Colorado during the base period. If you have not already told us about your employment in another state, call the Customer Service Center at (303) 318-9000 or 1-800-388-5515 (outside Denver-metro area) to add an employer to your claim. We contact your previous employer(s) and that state to determine whether or not they are included in your claim based on Colorado’s law.

Federal Civilian Wages

The federal government does not report your wages to us so we request your federal wages after you file for unemployment. Those wages are added to your claim after they are verified by the federal agency for which you worked, which means they may not appear on your first Statement of Wages and Possible Benefits.

In order to report these wages, you must sign and return the Claimant’s Affidavit of Federal Civilian Service, Wages, and Reason for Separation and the Unemployment Compensation for Federal Employees forms. When these wages are added, you will receive a new Statement of Wages and Possible Benefits.

If you have not already told us about your federal employment, call the Customer Service Center at 303-318-9000 or 1-800-388-5515 (outside Denver-metro area) to add this employer to your claim.

Military Wages

Your branch of service does not report your wages to us, which means they may not be reported on your first Statement of Wages and Possible Benefits. In order to report these wages, you must mail or fax a copy of your DD Form 214, Member 4 (this form does not need to be notarized). If you do not have a copy of your DD Form 214, you can request one here: http://www.archives.gov/veterans/military-service-records/. When we add the wages to your claim, you will receive a new Statement of Wages and Possible Benefits.
 

Mail to:
Unemployment Insurance Operations
P.O. Box 400
Denver, CO 80201-0400

Fax: 303-318-9014

If you have not already told us about your military service, call the Customer Service Center at 303-318-9000 or 1-800-388-5515 (outside Denver-metro area).


Contact Us

Colorado Division of Unemployment Insurance | 303-318-9000 | Contact Us