Jump to navigation
You have the right to leave a job for any reason at any time, but the circumstances of the separation will determine if and when you will receive benefits. When you file a claim, we will ask you and your employer for the reason for your separation. Based on this information, we will make a decision that will determine if and when you will receive benefits.
File online or call 303-318-9000 or 1-800-388-5515 (outside Denver-metro area).
A request for payment and certification of your eligibility is typically made every two weeks either online through MyUI or by telephone at 303-813-2800 or toll-free 1-888-550-2800. Both methods are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, but you must wait until after midnight Saturday of the second week for which you are requesting payment to file. We issue benefit payments either to a personal Colorado Automated Payment (CAP) Card, a Visa® debit card issued by the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment through Chase Bank, or by direct deposit into a checking or savings account of your choice.
Your CAP Card account is automatically created when you file for unemployment benefits. We automatically deposit benefits to your CAP Card unless you select direct deposit using the payment method tool. You will not be paid if your request for payment is late, unless you show good cause according to Regulations Concerning Employment Security for the late filing. Your request is considered late if you do not call within seven days following the week or weeks for which you are requesting payment.
A: You are a seasonal worker if you work only during a certain period of time. We call that period of time a season. Examples of seasonal workers are ski instructors and income-tax preparers. We cannot pay your unemployment benefits based on your seasonal work if you are out of work because the season ended. You have to be out of work during the season to get money based on that work. If you work outside the season, you stop being a seasonal worker. Then, we can pay your benefits based on that job any time.
You work for a ski resort. The resort’s season is from November 15 through April 15. You begin work on November 15 and end work on April 15. We cannot pay benefits from this job. You are not out of work during the season.
Suppose they lay you off on January 5 because there is no snow. We can pay benefits from this job from January 5 until April 15. You are out of work during the season. Suppose they keep you working until May 5 because there is so much snow. You are not a seasonal worker any more. You worked for that employer outside the season. So, we can pay your benefits from this job at any time.
A: You can be attached to a job or to a union hall. If you are attached, you do not have to look for work or register with a workforce center. You are attached to a job if the employer is going to bring you back to work within 26 weeks after your last day of work. You are attached to a union hall if you get jobs through the union.
Another way to be job-attached is to be attached to a new job. If a job is going to begin within two weeks, you do not have to look for work for the two weeks before you begin the job. Call the Customer Contact Center to be job-attached to a new job. Do not forget to request payment on CUBLine Online or CUBLine. You must also meet all the other requirements of the law (see Your Guide to Unemployment and Getting Paid Benefits).
Colorado Division of Unemployment Insurance | 303-318-9000 | Contact Us