Public Rulemaking Notice: Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards (COMPS) Order #36
In its annual wage order rulemaking, the Division of Labor Standards and Statistics in the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment has proposed replacing Minimum Wage Order #35 with Colorado Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards Order (“COMPS Order”) #36. The COMPS Order, like the Division’s prior annually issued wage orders, is the source of critical Colorado wage rights and responsibilities beyond those provided by federal law: eligibility for the Colorado minimum wage; overtime pay for work past 40 hours per week and 12 hours per day; meal and rest breaks; and other employee and employer rights and responsibilities, such as what wage deductions are permissible, how hourly rates are calculated from non-hourly pay for overtime, and posting the Order’s provisions to employees for ease of access. The Division’s Fact Sheet on the proposed COMPS Order summarizes substantive changes in the COMPS Order; the Division’s Statement of Basis, Purpose, Authority, and Finding offers more detail on the nature, basis for, and findings underlying all changes.
The public hearing on COMPS Order #36 is scheduled for Monday, December 16, 2019 from 3:00 pm to 6:00 pm at the Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics 12th Floor Conference Room, 633 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Map). There is no requirement for attendees to arrive by a particular time or to stay for the entire hearing, and the hearing may continue past 6:00 pm if any attendees still wish to give testimony. The hearing will be transcribed, and the transcript will be publicly available on this page, which (below) lists and links all comments received and the transcript of the Division’s pre-rulemaking public meeting of August 28, 2019. You may submit written comments, either before or after the hearing, anytime by the comment deadline of Tuesday, December 31, 2019.
Following is the complete schedule of the rule-making process, in accordance with the Colorado Administrative Procedure Act, C.R.S. § 24-4-l01, et seq. (2019).
|Pre-rulemaking comment period:||Wednesday, March 6, 2019|
|Pre-rulemaking public testimony:||Wednesday, August 28, 2019|
|Proposed rule filed:||Friday, November 15, 2019|
|Official publication of proposed rule:||Friday, November 25, 2019|
|Public hearing:||Monday, December 16, 2019|
|Comment deadline:||Tuesday, December 31, 2019|
|Anticipated adoption of final rule:||Friday, January 10, 2020|
|Anticipated effective date of rule:||Sunday, March 1, 2020, except
July 1, 2020 for new exempt salaries
|On the rule-making process:||Email firstname.lastname@example.org|
|To submit comments:||
or via the Google Form
|Press inquiries:||Email email@example.com|
|Employer or employee questions on substance of COMPS rules:||Call (303-318-8441) or Email firstname.lastname@example.org|
Comment Deadline: Tuesday, December 31, 2019
- 7 CCR 1103-1 Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards Order (COMPS Order) #36 (2020)
- 7 CCR 1103-1 Colorado Minimum Wage Order #35 (2019)
- 7 CCR 1103-1 Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards (COMPS Order) #36 (2020) Redline
- 7 CCR 1103-1 Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards Order (COMPS Order) #36 Statement of Basis, Purpose. Authority, & Findings
- 7 CCR 1103-1 Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards Order (COMPS Order) #36 Public Hearing Notice
- 7 CCR 1103-1 Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards (COMPS Order) #36 Fact Sheet on Proposed Changes
- 7 CCR 1103-1 Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards (COMPS Order) #36 Transcript of SPEAK Public Meeting August 28, 2019
AMENDED MINIMUM WAGE ORDER 35
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2020
Pursuant to Section 15, Article XVIII of the Colorado Constitution, these temporary rules increase the state minimum to $12.00 per hour, effective January 1, 2020, and conform the Colorado Minimum Wage Order #35, 7 CCR 1103-1, to statutory changes to C.R.S. Title 8.
- 7 CCR 1103-1 Amended Minimum Wage Order 35
- 7 CCR 1103-1 Amended Minimum Wage Order 35 Statement of Basis and Purpose
Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics | 303-318-8441 | Contact Us