Minimum Wage

 


2020 Colorado State Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2020: Minimum Wage $12.00

Tipped Employee Minimum Wage: $8.98


2019 Colorado State Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019: Minimum Wage $11.10

Tipped Employee Minimum Wage: $8.08


The Division of Labor Standards and Statistics has adopted Amended Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 35 effective January 1, 2020 through the expected release of Colorado Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards (COMPS) Order #36 on March 16, 2020. No more than $3.02 per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of tipped employees.

With the passage of Amendment 70, effective January 1, 2017, Colorado's minimum wage was increased to $9.30 per hour and is increased annually by $0.90 each January 1 until it reaches $12 per hour effective January 2020. Thereafter it will be adjusted annually for cost of living increases, as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for Colorado. This minimum wage shall be paid to employees who receive the state or federal minimum wage. No more than $3.02 per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of employees who regularly receive tips.

Pursuant to Section 15 of Article XVIII, of the Colorado Constitution, if either of the following two situations applies to an employee, then the employee is entitled to the $12.00 state minimum wage or the $8.98 state tipped employee minimum wage, effective January 1, 2020:

  1. The employee is covered by the minimum wage provisions of the Colorado Minimum Wage Order.
  2. The employee is covered by the minimum wage provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Employers covered by the Wage Order are required to post the Colorado Minimum Wage Order Poster (below).

NEW Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards (COMPS) Order #36  Poster (effective 3/16/2020)

Amended Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 35
Amended Colorado Minimum Wage Order 35 Poster
Amended Colorado Minimum Wage Order 35 Fact Sheet

Decreto Enmendado de Sueldos Mínimos de Colorado Número 35 (Amended Colorado Minimum Wage Order 35)
Afiche del Decreto Enmendado de Sueldos Mínimos de Colorado Número 35 (Amended Colorado Minimum Wage Order 35 Poster)
Decreto Enmendado de Sueldos Mínimos de Colorado Número 35 Hoja Informativa (Amended Colorado Minimum Wage Order 35 Fact Sheet)


Colorado State Minimum Wage vs Federal Minimum Wage

Minimum Wage

If an employee is covered by federal and Colorado state minimum wage laws, then the employer must pay the higher minimum wage. Federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour, which is lower than the 2020 Colorado state minimum wage of $12.00. Therefore, based upon current information, covered employers in Colorado will have to pay their employees the higher value of $12.00 per hour under Colorado law beginning January 1, 2020.

Tipped Minimum Wage

If an employee is covered by federal and Colorado state minimum wage laws, then the employer must pay the higher minimum wage for tipped employees. Federal tipped minimum wage is currently $2.13 per hour, which is lower than the 2020 Colorado tipped minimum wage of $8.98 per hour. Therefore, based upon current information, covered employers in Colorado will have to pay their tipped employees the higher value of $8.98 per hour under Colorado law beginning January 1, 2020.

If an employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of at least $8.98 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference in cash wages.

Minimum Wage History

EFFECTIVE DATE

MINIMUM WAGE

TIPPED EMPLOYEE MINIMUM WAGE

January 1, 2020 $12.00 $8.98
January 1, 2019 $11.10 $8.08
January 1, 2018 $10.20 $7.18
January 1, 2017 $9.30 $6.28
January 1, 2016 $8.31 $5.29
January 1, 2015 $8.23 $5.21
January 1, 2014 $8.00 $4.98
January 1, 2013 $7.78 $4.76
January 1, 2012 $7.64 $4.62
January 1, 2011 $7.36 $4.34
January 1, 2010 $7.24 $4.22
January 1, 2009 $7.28 $4.26
January 1, 2008 $7.02 $4.26
January 1, 2007 $6.85 $3.83
August 8, 1998 $5.15 $2.13

 

Federal Resources

Federal Minimum Wage
Federal Minimum Wage Poster
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division
Fair Labor Standards Act

 

 


Contact Us

Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics | 303-318-8441 | Contact Us