Nominations Now Being Accepted For Colorado’s Disability Employment Awards

The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the Shining Star Award celebrating the contributions of workers with disabilities. 

Nominations for the Shining Star Awards will be accepted online through 5 p.m. on September 23.  Awards will be presented to individuals and organizations in three categories: honoring workers with disabilities, employers who have taken steps to provide employment opportunities to people with disabilities, and finally, individuals or organizations that have made a positive impact on the quality of life for this community. Awards will be presented in October as part of National Disability Employment Month.

If you know a worker, a business or an organization that has made a noteworthy contribution, this is an opportunity to recognize their achievements.  Submit nominations via our form.

Submit a Nomination for Shining Stars

Employee Awards
Nominees should be individuals who are achieving their employment goals and overcoming the challenges of an impairment (physical, cognitive, mental, sensory, emotional, developmental, or some combination of these.)

Employer Awards
The average national unemployment rate was 3.9 percent in 2018.  The unemployment rate for people with a disability that year was 8.0.  The Employer Award recognizes those businesses that are addressing that disparity.  These nominees have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to improving the availability and accessibility of employment opportunities for people with disabilities.

Advocacy Awards
These awards are presented to individuals or organizations that have made major contributions to improving the health and quality of life of people with disabilities through research, teaching, advocacy, or practice.

This is the third year the Department of Labor and Employment and its Division of Vocational Rehabilitation has recognized the achievements of individuals and organizations in moving disability rights forward. Questions about the nominating process can be directed to

Recipients of last year’s awards are posted here.