Level II Accreditation
Level II Physician Accreditation, offered through the Division of Workers’ Compensation provides physicians with an understanding of the administrative, legal and medical aspects of workers’ compensation, in addition to educating physicians in performing impairment ratings using the American Medical Association Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, 3rd Edition Revised. Accreditation can be limited (ability to perform impairment ratings for specific areas of the body) or full (ability to perform all impairment ratings). Per statute, Level II Accreditation is limited to MDs and DOs.
The course can be completed by home study or through attending a seminar. Please indicate your preference on the registration form. Testing for accreditation must be scheduled at a testing site for those completing the course via the home study process.
You will be required to re-accredit every three years in order to retain your accreditation status.
- Assess when it is clinically appropriate to place a patient at “maximum medical improvement” (MMI) and identify the party responsible for determining MMI.
- Render an impairment rating, using the AMA Guides 3rd Ed. revised, on patients with deficits in the following areas (depending on the physician’s specialty): nervous system, spine, extremities, and/or mental/behavioral.
- Properly complete various medical reporting forms required by the AMA Guides and the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation.
- In a clinical case, combine the impairment ratings for range of motion of multiple joints or multiple parts of the body, as well as other deficits, to determine the extremity and/or and whole body (whole person) impairment rating.
- Understand the complexity of assessment of impairment due to pain perception, and how this is accounted for under Colorado statute.
- Understand and demonstrate how to perform range of motion measurements of the spine, upper and lower extremities, and how to appropriately convert those measurements into an impairment rating.
- With regard to reviewing, generating or releasing medical records, explain how the waiver of the doctor/patient privilege in a workers’ comp case is applied.
Course participants may earn Continuing Medical Education units through the Division of Workers’ Compensation/University of Colorado School of Medicine. The University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to sponsor continuing medical education for physicians. The University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine designates this educational activity for a maximum of 13.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.
Home study course registration:
|Regular seminar registration - up to 15 days prior to event start date:||$400.00|
|Late seminar registration within 15 days from event date:||$550.00|
|Home study course registration:||$400.00|
*Within six months from registration and payment, and upon written request, up to 50% of your registration fee may be refundable if you are unable to complete the course. All course requirements need to be completed within 18 months from the original date of registration/payment. Otherwise, a new registration with payment of applicable course fees must be submitted for re-registration.
In order to register, please complete the registration form.
If you have questions, please contact the Provider Education department @ 303-318-8754 or firstname.lastname@example.org.