Level I Accreditation
Level I Accreditation is designed to assist you in understanding your administrative, legal and medical role in the Colorado Workers’ Compensation system. All medical professionals providing workers’ compensation treatment are encouraged to complete the Level I Course, however, by statute, Level I accreditation is conveyed only to MDs, DOs, chiropractors, dentists, podiatrists, and PAs. The course can be completed online or through attending a seminar, please indicate your preference on the registration form. Testing for accreditation must be scheduled at a testing site for those completing via the online process. In order to maintain accreditation you must re-accredit every three years.
The live seminar also includes the Quality Performance and Outcomes Payments (QPOP) session as part of Rule 18-6(G)(6)(c). This session is optional but attendance at this session, in addition to passing the QPOP examination and submitting a sufficient report, is required in order to bill codes Z0815, Z0816.
- Define and assess maximum medical improvement for patients who have work-related injuries or medical conditions.
- Describe medical/ethical issues pertaining to workers’ compensation cases.
- Complete forms required by the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation.
- List the principles of risk assessment used to determine causality and apply them to a clinical case.
- With regard to reviewing, generating or releasing medical records, explain how the waiver of the doctor/patient privilege in a workers’ compensation case is applied.
- Explain and apply the general principles of the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation Medical Treatment Guidelines.
- Apply the appropriate Rules of Procedure in matters of prior authorization and billing.
Course participants who are licensed under the Medical Practice Act may earn Continuing Medical Education units through the Division of Workers’ Compensation/University of Colorado-Denver School of Medicine. The University Of Colorado School Of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to sponsor continuing medical education for physicians. The University Of Colorado School Of Medicine designates this educational activity for a maximum of 8.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. Chiropractors may earn CEUs as applicable through the Board of Chiropractic Examiners. If you have any questions, please call (303) 318-8754.
|Regular seminar registration - up to 15 days prior to event start date:||$200.00|
|Late seminar registration within 15 days from event date:||$350.00|
|Home study course registration:||$200.00|
*Within six months from registration and payment, and upon written request, up to 50% of your registration fee may be refundable if you are unable to complete the course. All course requirements need to be completed within 18 months from the original date of registration/payment. Otherwise, a new registration with payment of applicable course fees must be submitted for re-registration.