It is against the law for the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, a recipient of Federal financial assistance, to discriminate on the following bases:
- Against any individual in the United States, on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, political affiliation or belief; and
- Against any beneficiary of programs financially assisted under Title I of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 (WIA), on the basis of the beneficiary's citizenship/status as a lawfully admitted immigrant authorized to work in the United States, or his or her participation in any WIA Title I-financially assisted program or activity.
The department must not discriminate in any of the following areas:
- Deciding who will be admitted, or have access, to any WIA Title I-financially assisted program or activity;
- Providing opportunities in, or treating any person with regard to, such a program or activity; or
- Making employment decisions in the administration of, or in connection with, such a program or activity.
What to Do If You Believe You Have Experienced Discrimination
If you think you have been subjected to discrimination under a WIA Title I-financially assisted program or activity, you must file a complaint within 180 days from the date of the alleged violation with either:
The CDLE Equal Opportunity Officer
Scott Bowers at 303-318-8206
In writing to either CDLE or the Civil Rights Center, as listed below.
Individuals with speech and /or hearing impairments may call: Relay Colorado by dialing 711
If you believe you have been discriminated against by CDLE or one of its vendors, you may download the complaint form at this link, complete it and either present it to a local Workforce Center or mail it directly to one of the offices listed below.
Equal Opportunity Office
Colorado Dept. of Labor and Employment
633 17th St.
Denver, CO 80202
The Director, Civil Rights Center (CRC)
U.S. Department of Labor
200 Constitution Ave. NW,
Washington, DC 20210
If you file a complaint with CDLE, you must wait either until CDLE issues a written Notice of Final Action, or until 90 days have passed (whichever is sooner), before filing with the CRC, (see address above).
If CDLE does not send you a written Notice of Final Action within 90 days of the day on which you filed your complaint, you do not have to wait for CDLE to issue that Notice before filing a complaint with CRC. However, you must file your CRC complaint within 30 days of the 90-day deadline (in other words, within 120 days after the day on which you filed your complaint with CDLE).
If CDLE does give you a written Notice of Final Action on your complaint, but you are dissatisfied with the decision or resolution, you may file a complaint with the CRC. You must file your CRC complaint within 30 days of the date on which you received the Notice of Final Action.
Other Useful Equal Opportunity Links