CDHS announces membership of Colorado Behavioral Health Task Force

Behavioral Health Task Force press releaseDENVER (June 12, 2019) — The Colorado Department of Human Services (CDHS) and Gov. Jared Polis have announced the members of the newly created Behavioral Health Task Force and associated subcommittees. This Task Force will evaluate Colorado’s behavioral health system and author a statewide, strategic blueprint to reform the system with the goal of enabling every Coloradan experiencing behavioral health needs to receive timely, high-quality services in their communities.

The Department of Human Services is excited to lead the Behavioral Health Task Force. Polis and CDHS Executive Director Michelle Barnes are taking bold action to address the behavioral health system and improve Colorado’s support and resources for citizens needing help.

The Task Force committee members were chosen based on a variety of qualifications and were carefully reviewed to ensure they are a fair representation of Coloradans and the people needing and getting help in the Colorado behavioral health system. CDHS received more than 470 applications for the 100 seats that will comprise the state Task Force and its three subcommittees. 

“I am proud to lead this Task Force so we can urgently work to create a roadmap for behavioral health in our state,” said CDHS Executive Director Michelle Barnes. “The 100 citizens we have selected will make a critical difference for people dealing with issues related to mental health and substance abuse. I want to thank everyone that applied and encourage all Coloradans to stay involved as there is much work to be done.”

The first meeting will be July 1, where the main Task Force will outline its vision and how it will measure progress towards completing the blueprint by June 2020. There will be opportunities for the public to contribute through town hall meetings and discussions around the state. Citizens can also subscribe to updates and communication about the Task Force and its committees on the Behavioral Health Task Force website.

If you have questions, contact Madlynn Ruble, Deputy Director of Communications, by email at; or by phone at 303-866-3411 (office) or 303-253-4047 (cell).