BehavioralHealth's blog

RFA for Recovery Residence Certifying Body Closes Nov. 8, 2019

House Bill 19-1009 created standards for recovery residences for the purpose of referrals and title protections and prohibits a facility from using the terms “recovery residence”, “sober living facility”, “sober home”, or any like term, unless they meet specific requirements, which includes being certified by a recovery residence certifying body approved by the Office of Behavioral Health.

Office of Behavioral Health Submits 2020-2021 Behavioral Health Block Grant Application

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) has accepted Colorado’s combined mental health and substance use federal block grant application for Federal Fiscal Years 2020-21. Learn about the Office of Behavioral Health's FFY 2020-21 behavioral health assessment and plan for the state.

2019 Colorado Drug Trends Report Released

The Office of Behavioral Health’s Evaluation Team presented their Drug Trends analysis report to the Substance Abuse Trend and Response Task Force on Aug. 2, 2019. This report summarized findings from a 10-year trend analysis based on substance use treatment data from OBH-licensed facilities. The analysis focused on the six main substances that comprise 98% of all substance use treatment records: Alcohol, Marijuana, Cocaine, Methamphetamine, Heroin, and Prescription Opioids. Highlights of this presentation are outlined below: 

Meet the Administrative Services Organizations for Crisis Regions 2, 4 and 7

OBH is highlighting the new Administrative Services Organizations (ASO) that took over management of the state’s comprehensive behavioral health crisis system as of July 1. Each ASO is tasked with creating a sustainable network of providers to deliver crisis services to Coloradans within their respective crisis regions, all of which align with the state’s Medicaid regions. This month, we are focusing on Beacon Health Options and Health Colorado, the ASOs collectively responsible for covering the northeastern, south central, and southeastern portions of the state.