Family First Prevention Services Act Implementation Team

The purpose of the Family First Prevention Act (Family First) Implementation Team is to implement the "Colorado Family First Prevention Services Act: A Road Map to the Future," created by the Family First Prevention Services Act Advisory Committee. The Family First Implementation Team is responsible to develop, deploy and monitor a plan to implement the specific defined topic area recommendations and activities within the Road Map. Objectives and outcomes include:

  • Ensuring Colorado Family First vision/values are being upheld
  • Defining/prioritizing areas of focus
  • Identifying and recruiting needed people for participation in implementation workgroups
  • Assuring an evaluation component accompanies implementation
  • Monitoring and reporting on implementation progress (use of data)
  • Developing and implementing a communication and education plan
  • Communicating and coordinating with Colorado Department of Human Services, Advisory Committee and The Delivery of Child Welfare Services Task Force

Do you have a question about the Family First Prevention Services Act and how Colorado plans to opt-in to this new federal law? Ask a question and we'll answer.



Name Title/Role
Al Estrada Associate Director, Division of Youth Services
Alison Young Family Law Program Manager-State Court Administrator’s Office
Andrew Gabor Director of Child and Adolescent Services-State - OBH
Angela Lytle Deputy Director, Child and Adult Protection Services-Arapahoe County Human Services
Ashley Chase Legislative Liaison Office of Child Representative
Barb Weinstein Director,  Division of Children, Youth, Families and Adult Protection, Jefferson County Human Services.
Dan Makelky Director-Douglas County Human Services
Dennis Desparrois Placement Services Unit Manager-State – DCW
Rebecca Durbahn VP of Admissions and Campus Programs-Tennyson Center Representative
Elysia Clemens Deputy Director, Colorado Evaluation and Action Lab, University of Denver
Gail Engel Executive Director-Grand Family Coalition
Gretchen Russo Juvenile & Legislative Administrator-State - OCYF
Heather O'Hayre Director of Human and Economic Health Services, Larimer County
Heather Walker CW Director-Weld County Human Services
Janeen McGee Director-Lake County Human Services
Janis L. James Director Children & Family Services-Adams County Human Services
Judy Rodriguez Child Welfare Manager-Larimer County Human Services
Julia Dawson Client Service Coordinator - State - CDHS
Justine Miracle Development Specialist, Health Care and Public Financing - HCPF
Kate Jankovsky Child Fatality Prevention System Manager-State - CDPHE
Kari Daggett Deputy Director Division of Child Welfare - DCW
Kelly Sawka Finance Manager-State - CDHS
Kendra Dunn Strengthening Families Director State - OEC
Kit Thompson Family & Children Services Division Director-Boulder County Housing and Human Services
Lucille Echohawk Executive Director-Denver Indian Family Resource Center
Makita Cotto Child advocate
Megan Kauffmann Performance Analyst, Office of Children, Youth and Families - OCYF
Sherry Hansen Protective Services Administrator-Elbert County Human Services
Suzette Keating Child Welfare Program Administrator-Pueblo County Human Services
Tiffany Perrin ZOMA Fellow, Tennyson Center
Toni Miner Family Support Partner, Jefferson County
Tracey Garchar Executive Director-Mesa County Human Services


Implementation Team Workgroups