Colorado Works Allocation Committee

The Works Allocations Committee (WAC) was created to provide input to the Executive Director of Human Services on the allocation of the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) County Block Allocation to the counties. The WAC annually reviews the allocation, adopts a formula to distribute TANF mitigation, approves transfers between counties, and monitors the County TANF Reserve caps.   The WAC meets quarterly to review spending and allocation trends.



The WAC consists of 11 members, eight of whom are appointed by Colorado Counties, Inc. and three of whom are appointed by the State Department of Human Services.  The county with the greatest percentage of caseload is automatically appointed.

Name Representative
Nancy Sharpe Arapahoe County Commissioner, Co-Chair
Norm Steen Teller County Commissioner, Co-Chair
VACANT  County Commissioner
Barbara Kirkmeyer Weld County Commissioner
Don Mares Denver Department of Human Services
Steve Johnson Larimer County Commissioner
Kevin Karney Otero County Commissioner
Wendy Buxton-Andrade Prowers County Commissioner
Katie Griego State Representative, CDHS, Employment and Benefits Director
Ki'i Powell State Representative, CDHS, Office of Economic Security Director
Clint Woodruff State Representative, CDHS, Controller