About Us

Thank you for visiting Colorado Lieutenant Governor Dianne Primavera's Colorado Commission of Indian Affairs website. Our office serves as the official liaison between the State of Colorado and the Southern Ute Indian and Ute Mountain Ute Tribes.  The  relationship between the State and sovereign tribal governments is founded on a strong government-to-government relationship. The Commission ensures direct contact with the Tribes and also with Colorado’s urban Indian communities.

The Commission is committed to facilitating communication between the Southern Ute Indian Tribe, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe, the other 46 Historic Tribes of Colorado, American Indian organizations, state agencies, and affiliated groups. Our ongoing goal is to positively impact the lives of Colorado’s American Indians and communities statewide.  Our office is available to assist you in navigating state government, contacting the Lieutenant Governor and other state officials, applying to serve on a state board or commission, and more. Please search and navigate this website and let us know what you think!

We welcome your questions and comments, please contact us.


2013 Quarterly Meeting
Representatives from the Ute Mountain Ute and Southern Ute Indian Tribes have a direct line of communication to the Lt. Governor’s office. Here, during the December 2013 quarterly meeting, former Lt. Governor Garcia takes notes as former Executive Director Ernest House, Jr. explains upcoming legislation affecting tribal communities.

History of CCIA

In 1976, the Colorado General Assembly created the Colorado Commission of Indian Affairs (CCIA) within the Office of the Lieutenant Governor. The Commission was designed to be the official liaison between the two Ute Tribes and the State of Colorado. The Commission is fully committed to work on a government-to-government basis with each of the two Tribal governments and to maintain direct contact with the Tribes and urban Indian communities. Specific duties of CCIA are outlined in the Mandated Responsibilities: CCIA Enabling Statute, C.R.S. 24-44-101.  Statutory duties are set forth at C.R.S. 24-44-103.

Structure of CCIA

The Lieutenant Governor serves in the statutory role as chair of the Colorado Commission of Indian Affairs. The Executive Director and Program Assistant are responsible for carrying out the day to day tasks of the Commission.  CCIA has 11 voting commissioners and several non-voting members who represent various interests within the Native American community.

Additionally, CCIA is able to create special committees to engage with various themes relevant to AI/AN Tribes and communities statewide.  CCIA currently has an active Health and Wellness Committee.  Past committees have included the Economic Opportunities and Resources Committee, the Education Committee, and the Reinterment Committee which has since become the Colorado Lands Workgroup.

 For more information about CCIA’s committees, please visit the committees' Initiatives page.

List of CCIA Members

Voting Members

  • Dianne Primavera 
    CCIA Chairperson | Lt. Governor
    Lt. Governor's Office
  • Harold Cuthair
    Tribal Chairman
    Ute Mountain Ute Tribe
  • DeAnne House
    Tribal Councilwoman
    Ute Mountain Ute Tribe
  • Christine Baker-Sage
    Tribal Chairman
    Southern Ute Indian Tribe

  • Nicole Miera
    County and Tribal Liason
    CO. Dept. of Human Services

  • Dan Gibbs 
    Executive Director
    CO. Dept. of Natural Resources

  • Web Brown
    CO. Dept. of Public Health & Environment

  • Patrick Rondinelli
    Southwest Regional Manager
    CO. Dept. of Local Affairs

  • Lucille Echohawk
    Executive Director  
    Denver INdian Family Resource Center

  • Crystal LoudHawk-Hedgepeth
    Research Associate/Program Officer
    American Indian College Fund

Ex-Officio (non-voting) Members

  • Vacant
    CCIA Executive Director
    Office of the Lt. Governor
  • Michael McVaugh
    Region 5 Director
    CO. Dept. of Transportation
  • Georgina Owen
    Title VI Coordinator
    CO. Dept. of Education
  • Joshua Montoya
    CO. Dept. of Health Care Policy & Financing
  • Kirk Machin
    CO. Dept. of Corrections
  • Steve Moore
    Staff Attorney
    Native American Rights Fund
  • Steve Turner
    Executive Director
    History Colorado
  • Boby Troyer
    Acting U.S. Attorney
    Colorado U.S. Attorney
  • Elsa Ramirez
    Acting Regional Director & Executive Officer
    U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services Region VIII
  • Patty Salazar
    CO. Dept. of Regulatory Agencies
  • Julie Westendorff
    County Commissioner
    La Plata County
  • Lori Haukeness
    Montezuma-Cortez School District
  • Dr. Rocco Fuschetto
    Ignacio School District
  • Tom Hooten
    County Extension Director
    Montezuma County
  • Matthew Baca
    Office of Community Engagement | Colorado Department of Law