South Dakota Information

 

Criminal Records Requirements for the State of South Dakota                                                                                                                                                   

Name of Agency:                Attorney General Office - Division of Criminal Investigation - Identification Section 
Address:  

1302 E Hwy 14, Suite 5, Pierre SD 57501-8505

Website:   http://atg.sd.gov/LawEnforcement/Identification/default.aspx
Contact:   Dori
Position:  
Phone Number:   605-773-8484
Email:   atghelp@state.sd.us (General inbox)
Procedure: 

This includes but is not limited to some employment and self background checks depending on the requirements.

  1. A state applicant fingerprint card must be obtained from the DCI. All necessary supplies are available through the DCI Identification Section at no cost by calling (605) 773-3331.
  2. This fingerprint card must be completed to include the applicant's name, date of birth, gender and social security number as the minimum requirements for demographic information. Incomplete requests will be returned to requestor.
  3. The authorization and release form printed on the back of the card or found following the link below, must be completely filled out and signed. Be sure to include the correct address to which the response should be sent.
  4. The fingerprint card must also include a fully rolled set of fingerprints per SDCL 23-5-12.
  5. The individual must take the fingerprint card to his/her local law enforcement agency (Police Department or Sheriff's Office) to be printed. There may be an additional charge by these agencies to cover the cost of fingerprinting.
  6. A check or money order for $26.75 must be sent along with the fingerprint card and signed authorization. Please do not send cash.
  7. Upon receipt of all necessary information, fingerprints, signed authorization and fee, the DCI will conduct a state search and supply a copy of any criminal history that is found, or a letter stating that there is no criminal history. These results do not include federal charges, juvenile offenses (unless charged as an adult), sealed records, minor traffic violations or out of state information. Fingerprint cards will be destroyed and will not be returned with the responses.

Authorization and Release Form

Law Enforcement Agency:  
Turn Around Time:   Currently, the Division requires 5 business days plus mail time in order to process the background search and return the results.
Successful challenge:   Either a letter stating no record was found or a letter stating that a computer print out of the criminal record is enclosed as a result of the technical search. The response is mailed to whomever is specified on the signed authorization.
Cost:   There is a $26.75 fee when the applicant card and signed waiver is returned to the Division for processing per SDCL 23-5-13. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the Division of Criminal Investigation.