Criminal Records Requirements for the State of Oregon
|Name of Agency:||Oregon State Police|
CJIS Division Oregon State Police 3565 Trelstad Avenue SE, Bldg 1 Salem, OR 97317
|Phone Number:||(503) 378-3070|
To obtain a copy of your own Oregon criminal history report or a clearance letter indicating that you have no Oregon criminal history, you will need to complete the following steps: 1. Obtain properly rolled set of your fingerprints using the blue applicant fingerprint card (FD258). An example of this fingerprint card can be seen at: https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/standard-fingerprint-form-fd-258-1.pdf/view Please contact local police agency or fingerprinting service for information. Fingerprints may also be obtained at our office during these designated days/times: CJIS Division Oregon State Police 3565 Trelstad Avenue SE, Bldg 1 Salem, OR 97317 Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (The cost for this service is $20.00.) 2. Submit a $33.00 check or money order payable to Oregon State Police, along with the completed “Copy of Own Record Request Form.” For notarized requests, add an additional $5. 3. Mail the above documents to the following address: CJIS Division Oregon State Police Unit 11 P.O. Box 4395 Portland, OR 97208-4395 The results and the fingerprint card submitted will be returned to you. Please allow 7-10 business days for us to process your request and send the results out for delivery. Due to the confidentiality of criminal history record information, results will be mailed only to the requestor.
An Open Record is a criminal history report that contains conviction information. It also contains any arrest that occurred within the last calendar year from the date of the criminal history request, provided we have no court information on that arrest. You must provide us with the subject’s name (as complete as you can provide), a date of birth, and a current or last known mailing address.
By Oregon law, Oregon State Police must send the subject individual a copy of the criminal history record and give the individual the opportunity (14 days) to challenge or provide documents to correct information contained in the record. You will receive the results of the background check regardless of any challenge to this record.
|Law Enforcement Agency:|
|Turn Around Time:||14 days|
|Successful challenge:||A paper copy of the criminal history will be mailed to you by US Mail 14 days after the date it was processed.|
|Cost:||$10 - We currently accept MasterCard and Visa credit cards only.|