North Dakota Information
Criminal Records Requirements for the State of North Dakota
|Name of Agency:||North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation|
4205 North State Street, Bismarck, ND 58503
By law, state agencies and professional licensing boards may require an applicant to complete a criminal history record check prior to employment or licensure.
A ND criminal history record check may be name-based or fingerprint based.
A name-based search will not identify records if the subject was arrested under a different name from the name(s) listed on the request form. A fingerprint-based search will identify arrest records even if the subject used an unknown alias. If a fingerprint-based search is requested, fingerprints must be provided. To obtain fingerprints, contact your local law enforcement agency.
You need the subject’s:
Full name, including maiden name, former name and any known aliases;
Date of Birth;
Social Security Number OR the subject’s fingerprints; and
Subject's current address OR a signed authorization form.
Unless a signed authorization accompanies the request, the BCI will mail a notice to the subject that the criminal history record has been released.
The Record Request Form
Complete and submit the form along with the required fee to the BCI. Payment by check or money order (NO CASH), made payable to "ND Attorney General."
Public School Request for Criminal History Information
If you need the response to be certified or notarized you must attach a written request to the record request form.
If you submitted the request through a state agency or professional licensing board more than three weeks ago, you will need to contact the agency or board regarding the status of your request. Although the BCI begins processing requests upon receipt, some boards submit requests to the BCI only on a monthly basis.
For information about an Apostille, contact the North Dakota Secretary of State at (701) 328-2901.
|Law Enforcement Agency:|
|Turn Around Time:||It takes approximately 7-10 business days to process and complete a criminal history record check. If you require an expedited response, you must include a pre-paid self-addressed overnight/priority mail type envelope and payment only in the form of a certified cashier's check or money order.|
Request for Criminal History Record Information - $15 fee.
An eligible non-profit charitable organization may submit an Application for Reduction in Fee.
Upon approval, the fee is reduced to $5.