Missouri Information

 

Criminal Records Requirements for the State of Missouri                                                                                                                                                

Name of Agency:    Missouri State Highway Patrol
Address:  

Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division

  • 1510 East Elm Street
  • Post Office Box 9500
  • Jefferson City, MO 65102
Website:   http://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/CRID/crimRecChk.html
Contact:    
Position:  
Phone Number:   (573) 526-6153
Email:   mshpcjis@mshp.dps.mo.gov
Procedure:   

As the custodian of criminal history information for the state of Missouri, it is the responsibility of the Missouri State Highway Patrol's Criminal Justice Information Services Division to provide public access to criminal history information.

The MACHS (Missouri Automated Criminal History Site) site may be used to conduct online name based criminal history searches or to register for fingerprinting through the automated site which includes a subsequent fingerprint submission by means of the State of Missouri's Fingerprinting Services Vendor, currently 3M/Cogent.  Click here for MACHS 

Click here for Criminal Record Check Form

The Personal Identifier Search or also known as name-based search requires a payment of $13.00 per request. The background check results are considered a "possible match" and will include only open records. Open record information includes (1) records containing convictions, such as plead guilty to, or convicted of, (2) arrest information that is less than 30 days old from the date of arrest, (3) prosecutor filed charges awaiting final disposition from the court, and (4) records that contain a suspended imposition of sentence (SIS) during the probation period. A request for personal identifier search may be completed online through the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) or by mail. Requests made by mail require the completion of a "Request for Criminal Record Check Form, SHP-158. This form may be obtained from the Missouri State Highway Patrol, CJIS Division, or via the Internet at: Criminal Record Check Form (SHP-158)

Law Enforcement Agency:  
Turn Around Time:   Processing time for personal identifier search requests and fingerprint-based search requests received by mail is approximately 4-6 weeks.
Successful challenge:  
Cost:   $13