Jump to navigation
***Attention Colorado Federal Firearm Licensees***
Colorado House Bill 13-1228 requires that a fee be collected for a firearm background check prior to a firearm transfer by a Federal Firearm Licensee (FFL). This law went into effect on March 20, 2013. Based on the estimated expenses and projected volume of firearm background checks, the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) initially set the fee at $10.00 per firearm background check request, but later reduced it to $6.00, effective March 1, 2016, in an effort to comply with the excess reserve statute.
This fee is reviewed by the CBI to determine if any adjustments are necessary. Considerations for adjusting the fee may include the projected number of firearm background check requests, changes in staffing levels to meet expected demand, and/or IT system enhancements that are needed in the operation of the InstaCheck Unit. We recognize that frequent adjustments to this fee present challenges for your business so, we're committed to keeping the fee as low and affordable as possible. Although adjustments are inevitable, we are actively exploring ways to try to limit future fluctuations and provide you with a more consistent and predictable rate.
Upon examining the expenses, the CBI has determined a re-calibration of the fee is necessary to maintain current service levels to InstaCheck customers. Therefore, beginning Thursday, February 1, 2018 at 12:01 A.M. (MST), the CBI will increase the fee for a firearm background check from $6.00 to $15.00 (USD). Any firearm background check processed prior to this date will be assessed the $6.00 fee, including the January 1, 2018 through January 31, 2018 transactions listed on the invoices to be mailed the beginning of February 2018.
The fee increase pertains only to CBI firearm background checks, and not the fee a licensed gun dealer may charge for private firearms transfers pursuant to Colorado House Bill 13-1229.
If you have questions regarding your InstaCheck account, please contact Billing at 303-813-5700, option 6. The InstaCheck Billing section is available Monday-Friday, 9:00 A.M. through 5:00 P.M. (MST), excluding state holidays. For all other InstaCheck-related questions, please contact an InstaCheck supervisor at 303-813-5700, option 5. InstaCheck’s hours of operation are Sunday-Saturday, 9:00 A.M. through 9:00 P.M. (MST).
Effective January 9, 2017, reversal notifications sent to Federal Firearm Licensees (FFLs) by the InstaCheck Appeals section will be delivered through the mail or email only.
FFLs will receive these written notifications when their customer has been reversed within 30 days of the original transaction.
We are requesting any FFL that would like to receive this notification via e-mail, to please send a request to the InstaCheck Appeals section at: CDPS_CBI_InstaCheck_Appeals@State.CO.US
Please ensure that the request includes the full FFL number, store name and a statement asking to have the reversal notifications sent via e-mail. FFLs that do not provide the requested information, will receive hard copy notifications through the mail only.
If there are any questions, please contact the InstaCheck Appeals section at 303-813-5700 option 3.
Note: Click here for a free download of Adobe Reader.