Disposition Update and Sealing of an Arrest Record
The disposition of a charge means the conclusion of criminal proceedings, to include: conviction, acquittal, acquittal by reason of insanity, dismissal, abandonment, or indefinite postponement of criminal proceedings; a decision not to file criminal charges after arrest; formal diversion from prosecution; sentencing, correctional supervision, and release from correctional supervision, including terms and conditions thereof; outcome of appellate review of criminal proceedings; or executive clemency.
If disposition information is not included on your Colorado Criminal History Record Information (CCHRI), or if your report shows "disposition unknown," contact the appropriate court to obtain a copy of the disposition. If your case never went to court, you may be able to get the records from the arresting agency or the district attorney's office in the jurisdiction where the arrest occurred.
If you wish to update your CCHRI with disposition information, please forward a copy of the court disposition by mailing a copy to CBI Identification Unit at 690 Kipling Street, Suite 4000, Lakewood, Colorado 80215 or Fax to (303) 239-5858 Attn: Disposition Updates
CCHRI contains abbreviations and legal definitions for criminal justice purposes. Below is a list of the most common abbreviations and their definitions which you may see in a CCHRI.
|Acquited||Not guilty verdict after a jury trial.|
|Conviction Set Aside||Dismissed|
|DRP||Disposition Record Purged|
|DWOP||Dismissed Without Prejudice (can re-file charges in case).|
|DWP||Dismissed With Prejudice (cannot re-file charges in case).|
|Dismissed||Charges dismissed based upon findings of the court or district attorney.|
|Deferred Sentence or Judgment||If all sentencing conditions are met, the case is eligible for dismissal at the end of the deferment.|
|Guilty Plea||Defendant pled guilty to charge.|
|Guilty at Trial||Defendant was found guilty by a jury.|
|Not Guilty||Not guilty finding by the court at conclusion of trial.|
|Nolle Prosequi||The case was not filed-dismissed.|
|Nolo Contendre||No Contest - this has the same effect as a guilty plea.|
For specific court information, please select the appropriate link below.
Sealing a Record - Standard Order to Seal
A person may petition the court to seal his/her own records by filing a civil action with the District Court in the county where the arrest and/or criminal records are filed. Please review the Colorado State Statute (C.R.S.) 24-72-702 at the courts web site (see below) to read the instructions and qualifications for sealing a record. For additional information regarding obtaining a court order for the purpose of sealing a Colorado Criminal History Record, please contact the court in which the criminal records were filed or click on the link below for the sealing of records packet and instructions at Colorado Courts
Sealing a Record - Special Order to Seal
As of May 25, 2013, to seal an arrest record based on the following three Colorado Revised Statutes, you must submit a fee of $20.00 (reduced from $27.98) to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation for processing. Please make exact payments to the CBI, over payments are not accepted and will be returned for the correct amount, which will delay the process of the order to seal.
- 24-72-704 STATE, PUBLIC (OPEN) RECORDS, ARTICLE 72.PUBLIC RECORDS, PART 3. CRIMINAL JUSTICE RECORDS. Sealing of criminal conviction records information for offenses involving controlled substances for convictions entered on or after July 1, 2008, and prior to July 1, 2011, COLORADO REVISED STATUTES
- 24-72-705 STATE, PUBLIC (OPEN) RECORDS, ARTICLE 72.PUBLIC RECORDS, PART 3. CRIMINAL JUSTICE RECORDS, 24-72-308.6. Sealing of criminal conviction records information for offenses involving controlled substances for convictions entered on or after July 1, 2011, COLORADO REVISED STATUTES
- 24-72-708 Sealing of criminal conviction records information for petty offenses and municipal offenses for convictions.
- 24-72-706 Sealing of criminal conviction records information for offenses committed by victims of human trafficking.