Voluntary testing of industrial hemp is now available at state licensed testing facilities for THC potency

You can now, on a voluntary basis, have your industrial hemp tested at a state licensed testing facility for THC potency. As required by the Colorado state legislature, the system that the CDA coordinated with to track your industrial hemp sample and communicate test results is Metrc. The following questions and answers are provided to help inform you about this voluntary testing program.

 

Which facilities do the testing? Will the CDA use the test results?

Testing is performed by state licensed testing facilities that utilize the Metrc system. This voluntary testing is distinct and unrelated to any testing performed by the CDA. Because the test sample is not collected by the CDA and it does not oversee the testing, test results are for your information purposes and will not be used by the CDA for compliance purposes. Moreover, the CDA is not able to provide specific information about the processes and procedures used by any of the state licensed testing facilities. The CDA suggests that you communicate with the testing facility prior to dropping off a sample. Questions you may want to ask include: Is there a weight limit per sample? Will the facility dry the sample or must it be dried before drop off?

 

What service does Metrc provide and do I need to subscribe to Metrc?

The primary function of Metrc is to facilitate the electronic transfer of information between you and the testing facility. Radio frequency identification tags (“RFID tags”) are used to track your sample. Test results are provided to you electronically through the Metrc system. Training must be completed before an industrial hemp sample can be tested at a state licensed testing facility.

 

What are the costs?

The cost of using the Metrc system is $250.00 annually, plus the cost of RFID tags (.25 cents per tag and shipping costs). The $250.00 fee permits you to use the Metrc system an unlimited number of times during the annual period. Please note that this annual fee does not include the fees charged by the test facility for testing your industrial hemp. You will need to contact the testing facility directly to find out about the fees charged for testing.

 

Does CDA have a role in the voluntary testing? If I have questions, who should I ask?

CDA’s role has been solely to coordinate this system for voluntary testing of industrial hemp at state licensed facilities. The CDA does not have oversight over either Metrc or the state licensed testing facilities. You can start the process of contacting Metrc by clicking on the link to Metrc’s website which is available on the CDA’s website under Industrial Hemp. The CDA cannot, however, answer any specific questions pertaining to the electronic transfer of information or test results. You will need to contact Metrc directly to obtain answers to these questions. Additionally, CDA does not have knowledge about the processes or procedures used by any of the state licensed testing facilities. Questions of this nature should be directed to the testing facility.

 

How do I get sign up for Metrc training?

First, identify who will serve as your “administrator” and have that individual complete the Metrc training. Your administrator will log onto the Metrc website at www.metrc.com to sign up for training. The steps to sign up for training are as follows:

 

1. Go to www.metrc.com

2. Click “Colorado Industrial Hemp” on the top navigation bar.

 

You can sign up with Metrc immediately. Please feel free to contact the CDA if you with any general questions about the voluntary testing program. Specific questions should be directed to either Metrc or your chosen licensed testing facility.