Brand Board Members

The State Board of Stock Inspection Commissioners (Brand Board) is a Type 1 board whose five members are appointed by the Governor to four-year terms. Two of the members represent the nonconfinement cattle industry, two represent the confinement cattle industry, and the fifth represents the commodity other than the confinement and nonconfinement cattle industries with the largest percentage of charged fees. Traditionally, that has been the equine industry. The Brand Board and Brand Inspection Division are 100% funded by fees and assessments paid by Colorado's livestock industries.

The Brand Board's principal responsibilities are to appoint a brand commissioner who shall be under the Board's supervision and carry out its policies, and to make such rules and regulations not inconsistent with law concerning inspection of brands and livestock as it deems proper.

The members of the board are as follows:

  • Mr. Kory Kessinger  - Akron
  • Mr. Daniel P McCarty - Rifle
  • Mr. David Mendenhall - Rocky Ford
  • Ms. Elizabeth Kearney - Berthoud
  • Mr. Erik Mohrlang - Fort Morgan

The board meets monthly unless, in case of emergency, a special meeting is deemed advisable.  Brand Board meetings are the third Wednesday of each month, unless otherwise noted and may also be telephonic.  All meetings, unless otherwise noted, are located at: Colorado Department of Agriculture, Brand Inspection Division, 305 Interlocken Parkway, Broomfield CO 80021.