Go to main text
Welcome to Colorado.Gov - The official website of the State of Colorado
Office of Economic Development and International Trade

Business Licensing Database
BAIL BONDSMAN

Professional Bonding Agents
BAIL BAIL BOND BAIL BONDSMAN BONDSMAN
BOUNTY HUNTING IMMIGRATION BONDSMAN


State

Colorado Division of Insurance
1560 Broadway # 850
DENVER , CO   80202
(303)894-7499
Fax: (303)894-7455
Bail bond agents must be licensed as insurance "producers". A Bail Bonding Agent may apply for authority as a Surety Bail Bonding Agent and/or a Professional Cash Bail Agent, depending on qualifications.
Surety Bail Bonding Agent -- If you are a new applicant who will write surety bonds for an insurance company or have been licensed as a Bail Bonding Agent in Colorado for less than four (4) years before your application and will write surety bonds for an insurance company, submit your application for the Surety Bail Bonding Agent Authority.
Professional Cash Bail Agent-- If you are applying to write bonds as a Professional Cash Bail Agent and have been licensed as a Surety Bail Bonding Agent in Colorado for the four (4) previous years, submit bond documentation in the minimum amount of $50,000 for authority to write bonds in the amount of $100,000 and be approved by the Colorado Division of Insurance.
You must be a resident of the state of Colorado, at least 18 years of age, and you must be trustworthy, competent, financially responsible, and of good personal and business reputation.
You must meet pre-licensing training requirements regarding Bail Bonds and Bail Recovery.
New Bail Bonding Agent candidates must pass an examination. The examinations are administered by Promissor, Inc.

Link: http://www.pearsonvue.com/

Fingerprints & photograph required. No convicted felons or persons who have been on parole or probation in the last ten years will be licensed.
Fees for the exam: Examination fee $70 per session. Licensing fee $289 per authority. Fingerprint check $13.
Semiannual reports must be made to the Division of all bonds posted.
Corporation and trade names must be registered with the appropriate authority before applying to the Insurance Division. See the Colorado Business Resource Guide for more information on trade name and corporate registration.

Link:  http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/OEDIT/OEDIT/1154721645662

See the "Licensing Examination Bail Bonding Agent Candidate Handbook"

Link:  http://www.asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/120607.pdf

Bail Recovery Services -- Prior to hiring, contracting with, or paying any compensation to any individual other than another licensed bail bonding agent for bail recovery services ("bounty hunting"), a licensed bail bonding agent must:
Confirm with the Colorado Bureau of Investigation that such person has not been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any felony.

State

Colorado Department of Law
1525 Sherman St 7th Floor
Denver , CO   80203
(303)866-4500
Fax: (303)866-5691
Obtain a copy of a certificate of training in bail fugitive apprehension from an accredited program. Training courses must be accredited by the Colorado Peace Officer Standards and Training Board (P.O.S.T.), 303-866-5692, email post@state.co.us. (12-7-105.5, C.R.S.)

page last updated 3/23/10

The Colorado Revised Statutes are available on line at http://www.state.co.us/gov_dir/leg_dir/olls/colorado_revised_statutes.htm. You can locate a statute of interest by searching either on the citation given in the database (e.g., 18-5-307) or on a keyword or phrase.

 

<- Back | ^ Top | OED Home | next->