Commission Members



April Jones, Chair

April Jones was appointed by the Colorado House of Representatives in 2015 to serve a four-year term. Commissioner Jones is admitted to the bar in Colorado and California, and is the managing attorney in a Greenwood Village law firm focusing on family law issues.  She has practiced law in a number of other legal specialties, including criminal, employment, real estate, business litigation, personal injury, bankruptcy, insurance defense, and Title VII discrimination.  Commissioner Jones has worked as an instructor in certification courses for child and family investigators and family mediation.  She has numerous professional affiliations, and has previously served on the Colorado Supreme Court Nominating Commission and the State Board of Marriage and Family Therapists.  Commissioner Jones graduated from the University of California at Berkeley in 1987 and earned her law degree from the University of California Hastings College of the Law in 1991.

back to top

Jo Ann Sorensen, Vice-Chair

Jo Ann Sorensen was appointed by the IEC in September 2016 to serve as the IEC's Fifth Commissioner.  Commissioner Sorensen has bachelor’s and master’s degrees in elementary education from the University of Wisconsin - Whitewater.  She currently serves as the Clear Creek County Transportation Liaison.  Prior experience includes service as both a County Commissioner and Land Use Division Director for Clear Creek County.  Commissioner Sorensen’s experience also extends to service on Boards of Directors for nonprofits and special districts, including the Clear Creek County Library District, the Clear Creek Fire Authority, the Clear Creek Fire Authority Pension Board, the Jefferson Center for Mental Health, the Mountain Family Health Centers, and Project Support (provider of services and housing for seniors).

back to top

William J. Leone, Commissioner

William J. Leone was first appointed to the Commission by Governor John L. Hickenlooper for a term commencing July 1, 2013, and was subsequently reappointed by the Senate for a term commencing July 1, 2017. Commissioner Leone is currently Head of Litigation and a Partner at Norton Rose Fulbright in Denver (formerly known as Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.) and was also a Partner at Faegre & Benson LLP. He served as the United States Attorney for the District of Colorado from 2004 to 2006, and was the First Assistant United States Attorney for three years before his appointment as United States Attorney. Prior to his work at the United States Attorney’s Office, Commissioner Leone was in private practice in Denver.

A native Coloradoan, Commissioner Leone is a graduate of Colorado State University, where he was Phi Beta Kappa, as well as the University of Colorado School of Law. In law school, he was a member of the Law Review and Order of the Coif. He has received numerous awards and recognition for his work as an attorney. He is a member of the Colorado Bar Association, the Adams County Bar Association, and the Board of the National Association of Former U.S. Attorneys.

back to top

Matt Smith, Commissioner

Matt Smith of Grand Junction, was appointed by Colorado Supreme Court Chief Justice Mary Mullarkey, was reappointed in 2011 by Chief Justice Michael L. Bender to serve until 2015, and was reappointed a second time by Chief Justice Nancy Rice to serve until 2019.  Commissioner Smith served as the Chairman of the Commission from 2009-2011 and began a second term as Chairman in 2017.  Previously, Commissioner Smith served as State Representative for House District 54, covering western Mesa and Delta Counties, from 1996-2004. During that time, he served as Chairman of the House Local Government and Joint Legal Services committees, and as Vice-Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee.  Commissioner Smith served two consecutive terms as Chair of the Energy Committee for the National Conference of State Legislators, and as Chair of the Energy Council, an international organization of state legislators from ten energy-producing states, four Canadian provinces, and Venezuela. In addition to passing extensive water legislation, Commissioner Smith is best known for his leadership role in defeating the controversial water measure, Referendum A, in 2003.  An attorney in private practice, Commissioner Smith has worked on water, natural resource and permitting issues, and has taught business law at Mesa State College.  He graduated Mesa State College in 1980 and earned his law degree from the University of Wyoming College of Law in 1984.

back to top