DENVER — Tuesday, Aug. 7, 2018 — Gov. Hickenlooper today announced Boards and Commissions appointments to the Ground Water Commission, Public Employees’ Retirement Benefit Association Board of Trustees, Colorado Racing Commission, Southern Ute Indian Tribe/State of Colorado Environmental Control Commission, and Strategic Action Planning Group on Aging.

The Ground Water Commission determines the boundaries of designated ground water basins by geographic description and considers well permit applications for persons desiring to appropriate designated ground water for beneficial use.  The Commission is responsible for the development of policies and procedures for maximum economic development, as well as the protection of the vested rights of the designated ground water basins of the state.

For a term expiring May 1, 2019:

  • Glen S. Frihauf of Wiggins, to serve as a resident agriculturist from the Upper Big Sandy Basin, and occasioned by the removal of Daniel L. Farmer of Colorado Springs, appointed.

The Public Employees’ Retirement Association (PERA) manages and provides retirement and other benefits to the employees of more than 500 government agencies and public entities in the State of Colorado. By state law, the management of the public employees' retirement funds are vested in PERA's Board of Trustees.

For a term expiring July 10, 2022:

  • Thomas Jay Barrett of Denver, to serve as a representative with experience and competence in investment, management, finance, banking, economics, accounting, pension administration, or actuarial analysis, and as a Democrat, appointed.

The Colorado Racing Commission regulates and supervises pari-mutuel wagering (for horses and dogs), including enforcement of rules, supervision of race meets and racing officials, and collection of revenues to the State.

For a term expiring July 1, 2020:

  • Justine Scott Estes of Gypsum, a Republican from the Third Congressional District, who was previously appointed as a registered elector of the state to now serve as a representative of the racing industry, appointed;

For a term expiring July 1, 2022:

  • Sandra Jeanne Bowen of Idledale, a Democrat, from the Second Congressional District to serve as a registered elector of the state, appointed.

The Southern Ute Indian Tribe/State of Colorado Environmental Control Commission adopts air quality standards and rules pertaining to the reservation air program. For further information, please review the Colorado State Statute 25-7-1303.

For a term expiring July 1, 2021:

  • Peter Butler of Durango, reappointed.

The Strategic Action Planning Group on Aging studies and produces a comprehensive strategic action plan on aging in Colorado through the year 2030. The Planning Group examines the impact, both positive and negative, of the aging demographic shift on the economy, workforce, businesses, market based products and services; State and local revenue budgets and fiscal policies; Medicaid and other safety-net programs and the collateral impact on other nonrelated State programs; family caregiving and public and private options for long-term care, services and support; federal entitlement reforms; transportation services and infrastructure.

For a term expiring Aug. 1, 2022:

  • Gabriel E. Kaplan of Denver, to serve as the designee of the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, reappointment.