**** Sports Betting license applications can be found here. ****

The Division of Gaming and the Gaming Commission issue six types of casino gaming licenses for individuals and businesses that meet our licensing requirements:

Gaming License types:

  • Manufacturer/Distributor — Companies that manufacture or serve as a distributor for approved slot machines and component parts.
  • Retailer — Persons permitting or conducting limited gaming on their premises.
  • Operator — Persons permitting slot machines on their premises or persons, such as slot machine routers, who place and operate slot machines on the premises of a retailer.
  • Key Employee — Persons who have the responsibility of making management or policy decisions in a gaming establishment.
  • Support Employee — Persons such as dealers and cashiers, including anyone employed in the field of limited gaming.
  • Associated Equipment Supplier — Persons who import, manufacture, or distribute associated equipment in Colorado, or who otherwise act as an associated equipment supplier.

Please review the list of Automatic Disqualifiers prior to applying for a license.

Effective Monday, November 5, the Central City and Cripple Creek offices will be changing their licensing staff hours.
Cripple Creek: Tuesday to Friday, 7:00  a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Central City: Monday to Thursday, 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
The Cripple Creek office lobby will be closed to the public on Mondays while the Central City office lobby will be closed to the public on Fridays.  During those closed hours, the main office phones will be forwarded to the Golden office.  The Golden office staff will be able to forward calls to the appropriate staff member.


License Fees (2-Year License)

Effective July 1, 2015, License Fees increased.  Please refer to the following tables for fees:  

Gaming Licence Types
  As of July 1, 2015
Manufacturer/Distributor-Type 1 (original and renewal) $3,700
Manufacturer/Distributor-Type 2 (original and renewal) $7,400
Associated Equipment Supplier (Type 1) $3,700
Associated Equipment Supplier (Type 2) $7,400
Operator-Type 1 (original and renewal) $3,700
Operator-Type 2 (original and renewal) $7,400
Retailer-Type 1 (original and renewal) $5,500
Retailer-Type 2 (original and renewal) $8,000
Key Employee (original) $275
Key Employee (renewal) $215
Support Employee (original) $115
Support Employee (renewal) $70

* Type 1 applicants have six or fewer persons with a 5% or more interest in the license, all of whom live in Colorado.  All others are Type 2 applicants.

License Fees

Background Deposits

Type 1 Applicants $5,000
Type 2 Applicants $10,000
Key Employee $1,000
Support Employee N/A

* The Division of Gaming collects a background deposit to cover the costs of conducting a thorough background check.  The Division bills against this deposit at a rate of $77 per hour and also charges for any travel or out-of-pocket expenses. Any remaining amounts of money at the end of the background investigation are refunded to the applicant. The hourly rate is subject to annual review and change on July 1.


The Division of Gaming updated its licensing process for certain licenses as of February 17, 2012. The revised process impacts those licensees who are out of the state of Colorado. 

Because a Colorado gaming license is considered a public benefit, evidence of lawful presence must be provided and verified pursuant to Article 72.1 of Colorado Revised Statutes, also known as the Secure and Verifiable Identity Document Act. To ensure our agency’s compliance with this Act, an applicant is required to submit a photocopy of the required form(s) of identification with the license application. The individual is required to present himself/herself in person at one of the Division of Gaming offices and bring the original document with him/her before the license can be issued and before the individual can obtain his/her license ID badge and before the individual can exercise any of the privileges granted under such license. 

Effective February 17, 2012, out of state applicants have another option in lieu of presenting themselves in person. When completing the application, applicants may have their identification (the same identification photocopied and submitted with the application) verified by law enforcement when the Verification of Fingerprints form in the application is completed. This verification must be completed by law enforcement during the fingerprinting process. If it is not, applicants must present themselves in person as detailed above. 

Renewal applicants (excluding expired renewals) will be allowed to submit their applications without completing either process since their identification has already been verified. 

If you have any questions about this process, please contact the Division of Gaming’s  Agent in Charge, John Madruga at 303.205.1337.