This week and every week, parents should have conversations with their teens about the important rules they need to follow to stay safe behind the wheel of a passenger car, truck, or SUV. These rules address the greatest dangers for teen drivers: alcohol, inconsistent or no seat belt use, distracted and drowsy driving, speeding, and number of passengers.
The Problem:Too many teens are dying on our roads
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for teens (15-18 years old) in the United States - ahead of all other types of injury, disease, or violence.
In 2016, there were 2,288 people killed in crashes involving a teen driver (15-18 years old), of which 814 deaths were the teen driver - a 6% increase from 2015.
Parents can be the biggest influences on teens’ choices behind the wheel if they take the time to talk with their teens about some of the biggest driving risks.
Even if you think they don't hear you, they do. Remember, set the rules before they hit the road.
CO Rev Stat § 42-4-1406 (b) No person shall throw, drop, or otherwise expel a lighted cigarette, cigar, match, or other burning material from a motor vehicle upon any highway.
In 2017, pedestrian fatalities in Colorado reached an all-time high. Ninety-three lives were lost last year, up 11 percent from the 84 pedestrian fatalities in 2016 and up 45 percent from 2015 when 64 pedestrians died.
The Heat Is On
Spring is upon us, giving Coloradans everywhere a reason to celebrate. But in case your next spring celebration includes alcohol or marijuana, know that law enforcement will be on heightened alert to keep impaired drivers off the road. Starting Friday, April 6, the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT), Colorado State Patrol (CSP) and local law enforcement agencies across the state will participate in The Heat Is On Spring Events DUI enforcement period. The enforcement period will continue for more than five weeks, through Monday, May 14.
This law was put into effect to save the lives of law enforcement officers, emergency responders and possibly yours as well.
When an emergency vehicle with emergency lights activated is stopped or parked on or next to a roadway, drivers approaching the emergency vehicle should:
(1) make a lane change into an available lane not immediately adjacent to the emergency vehicle or
(2) if unable to safely make a lane change, slow down to a reasonable speed for existing weather, road, and vehicular or pedestrian traffic conditions.
Effective January 1, 2018, HB 17-1277 grants Law Enforcement acting on behalf of the Department of Revenue the authority to suspend the driver license of a driver who leaves the scene of a crash involving serious bodily injury or death. Section 42-4-1601.
Distracted Driver Awareness Month
Distracted driving is the act of driving while engaged in anything—texting, looking after children or pets, talking on the phone or to a passenger, watching videos, eating, or reading—that takes a driver's focus away from the road.
Using a cellphone while driving is a Killer Habit.
Many drivers are aware of the dangers of distracted driving but continue to do so. Distracted driving crashes are likely under-reported. Unlike alcohol-impaired driving, there's no quick test, like a breathalyzer, to tell if someone was distracted at the time of the crash, and some drivers involved in crashes don't admit they were driving distracted.