Minimum Wage

Advisory Bulletins


2017 Colorado State Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2017 Minimum Wage: $9.30

Tipped Employee Minimum Wage: $6.28


2016 Colorado State Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2016 Minimum Wage: $8.31

Tipped Employee Minimum Wage: $5.29


The Division of Labor Standards and Statistics has adopted Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 33 effective January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017, to reflect the state minimum wage of $9.30 per hour. No more than $3.02 per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of tipped employees.

With the passage of Amendment 70, effective January 1, 2017, Colorado's minimum wage is increased to $9.30 per hour and is increased annually by $0.90 each January 1 until it reaches $12 per hour effective January 2020. Thereafter it will be adjusted annually for cost of living increases, as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for Colorado. This minimum wage shall be paid to employees who receive the state or federal minimum wage. No more than $3.02 per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of employees who regularly receive tips.

Pursuant to Section 15 of Article XVIII, of the Colorado Constitution, if either of the following two situations applies to an employee, then the employee is entitled to the $9.30 state minimum wage or the $6.28 state tipped employee minimum wage, effective January 1, 2017:

  1. The employee is covered by the minimum wage provisions of the Colorado Minimum Wage Order.
  2. The employee is covered by the minimum wage provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Employers covered by the Wage Order are required to post the Colorado Minimum Wage Order Poster (below).

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 33
Colorado Minimum Wage Order 33 Fact Sheet
Colorado Minimum Wage Order 33 Poster

Decreto de Sueldos Mínimos de Colorado Número 33 (Colorado Minimum Wage Order 33)
Afiche del Decreto de Sueldos Mínimos de Colorado Número 33 (Colorado Minimum Wage Order 33 Poster)
Hoja Informativa del Decreto de Sueldos Mínimos de Colorado Número 33 (Colorado Minimum Wage Order 33 Fact Sheet)


Colorado State Minimum Wage vs Federal Minimum Wage

Minimum Wage

If an employee is covered by federal and Colorado state minimum wage laws, then the employer must pay the higher minimum wage. Federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour, which is lower than the 2017 Colorado state minimum wage of $9.30. Therefore, based upon current information, covered employers in Colorado will have to pay their employees the higher value of $9.30 per hour under Colorado law beginning January 1, 2017.

Tipped Minimum Wage

If an employee is covered by federal and Colorado state minimum wage laws, then the employer must pay the higher minimum wage for tipped employees. Federal tipped minimum wage is currently $2.13 per hour, which is lower than the 2017 Colorado tipped minimum wage of $6.28 per hour. Therefore, based upon current information, covered employers in Colorado will have to pay their tipped employees the higher value of $6.28 per hour under Colorado law beginning January 1, 2017.

If an employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of at least $6.28 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference in cash wages.

Minimum Wage History

EFFECTIVE DATE

MINIMUM WAGE

TIPPED EMPLOYEE MINIMUM WAGE

January 1, 2020 $12.00 $8.98
January 1, 2019 $11.10 $8.08
January 1, 2018 $10.20 $7.18
January 1, 2017 $9.30 $6.28
January 1, 2016 $8.31 $5.29
January 1, 2015 $8.23 $5.21
January 1, 2014 $8.00 $4.98
January 1, 2013 $7.78 $4.76
January 1, 2012 $7.64 $4.62
January 1, 2011 $7.36 $4.34
January 1, 2010 $7.24 $4.22
January 1, 2009 $7.28 $4.26
January 1, 2008 $7.02 $4.26
January 1, 2007 $6.85 $3.83
August 8, 1998 $5.15 $2.13

 


References

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 33(effective 1/1/17)
Colorado Constitution, Article XVIII, Section 15 (Amendment 70)
Fair Labor Standards Act
 

Federal Resources

Federal Minimum Wage
Federal Minimum Wage Poster
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division


Contact Us

Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics | 303-318-8441 | Contact Us