Sex Offenders must register during business hours within 5 business days of being released into the community or receiving a notice to register. If the offender is released from the Department of Corrections with no supervision, they must register the next business day. Sex offenders must re-register annually within five business days before or after their birth date. Sex offenders must register quarterly (every 3 months) for the remainder of their natural life if they have been found to be a Sexually Violent Predator, if they were convicted as an adult in Colorado of any of the following listed offenses, or if they were convicted in another state or jurisdiction of an offense that requires quarterly registration in that state or jurisdiction, or would require quarterly registration in Colorado.
- Felony Sexual Assault, in violation of section 18-3-402, or Sexual Assault in the First Degree, in violation of section 18-3-402 as it existed prior to July 1, 2000, or Sexual Assault in the Second Degree, in violation of section 18-3-403 as it existed prior to July 1, 2000, or
- Sexual Assault on a Child in violation of section 18-3-405, or
- Sexual Assault on a Child by one in a Position of Trust, in violation of section 18-3-405.3, or
- Sexual Assault on a client by a Psychotherapist, in violation of section 18-3-405.5, or
- Incest, in violation of section 18-6-301, or Aggravated Incest, in violation of section 18-6-302.
Offenders who are not convicted of any of the above offenses must register annually. If a sex offender moves into the State of Colorado, they must register with the law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction to which they moved, within 5 business days after the move occurs.
In addition, sex offenders must notify the local law enforcement agency where they live, if they change residences within that agency's jurisdiction, or if they establish additional residences in that jurisdiction. Sex offenders must also re-register within 5 business days, if they legally change their name.
Sex offenders who are subject to quarterly registration and who lack a fixed residence shall notify the registration agency of the location(s) where they remain. Sex offenders must make this notification in person (self-verification), at least once every month.
Sex offenders who are subject to annual registration and who lack a fixed residence shall notify the registration agency of the location(s) where they remain. Sex offenders must make this notification in person (self-verification), at least once every three months.
Where to Register
- If the sex offender lives within the limits of a city or town, they must register at the local police department.
- If the sex offender lives outside the limits of a city or town, they must register at the county sheriff's department.
- If the sex offender has multiple residences, they must register with the law enforcement agency of each jurisdiction in which they reside.
- If a sex offender changes their residence to another state or other jurisdiction, they must report the new address to the law enforcement agencies where they are registered in Colorado and in the city or town where they will reside in the new state.
- All registrants must provide a current photograph and a complete set of fingerprints at the time of registration and pay any fees imposed by the local law enforcement agency.
Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act
At the time of registration, sex offenders must notify law enforcement if they are enrolled, employed, or volunteering at an institution of post-secondary education in Colorado, and of any change in such enrollment, employment, or volunteering (commencement or termination). If a sex offender begins enrollment, employment, or volunteering after they have registered, they must return to the law enforcement agency and report all required information.