The State Personnel Board hears and decides appeals of state employees. Appeals may involve disciplinary actions (such as terminations, suspensions, demotions, and pay reductions), non-disciplinary actions (such as layoffs and administrative discharges), discrimination charges, whistleblower claims, and other issues. The Board can only reverse or modify an agency decision if that decision was arbitrary, capricious, or contrary to rule or law.
Colorado law applies strict deadlines to the filing of appeals. All appeals must be filed within 10 days from the date of the action being appealed. The filing date of the appeal is the date it was postmarked, hand-delivered, or received by fax at the Board's office.
Colorado statutes require the Board to process cases under expedited timelines. Hearings must commence no later than 90 days after receipt of an appeal, unless the appeal is referred for investigation of discrimination or a response to whistleblower claims. The Administrative Law Judges (ALJs) conduct the hearings, and their initial decisions must be issued within 45 days of the end of the hearing. If a party appeals to the Board, the Board must issue its decision within 150 days.
An investigation by the Colorado Civil Rights Division (CCRD) into a discrimination charge may take as long as 450 days, and the employee can waive that investigation.
Initial decisions for the past ten years and Board orders for recent years are available on the web site, as are annotations of ALJ decisions.
AS OF NOVEMBER 12, 2013, THE STATE PERSONNEL BOARD HAS RELOCATED TO 1525 Sherman Street, 4th Floor, Denver, Colorado 80203.