Colorado Department of Revenue
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

SB09-108 FASTER

SB09-108 FASTER (Funding Advancement for Surface Transportation and Economic Recovery)

Late Fees, Road Safety Surcharge and Bridge Safety Surcharge

 

 

Late Fees

 

 

Colorado motor vehicle owners face a new late fee of up to $100 for failing to register their vehicles on time.

 

 

A law passed this year requires owners of motor vehicles registered on or after June 1, 2009 to make a timely payment or face late fees of $25 per month up to a total $100 per vehicle. The owner will continue to receive a one month grace period. Then, the $25-per-month late fee applies to any portion of the subsequent months for up to four months. Vehicles that have been issued temporary registrations (permits) are subject to the late fee.


Individuals who move to Colorado from out of state and do not register their vehicle within 90 days of residency will be charged late fees up to $100.00. Vehicles purchased by Colorado residents will be assessed late fees 61 days after the purchase date, if the vehicle is not registered.

 

 

Vehicles that are used to operate a commercial business as part of the normal operation of the business are exempt late fees if the vehicle has not been operated on any public highway in Colorado for one full registration period.

 

 

The owner of a vehicle who is active in the military serving outside Colorado when the registration grace period expires, if the vehicle has not been operated on any public highway in Colorado between the time the registration period expired, including the grace period and the time the vehicle is registered will be exempt late fees.

 

 

Road Safety Surcharge

 

Road Safety Surcharge is imposed on any vehicle for which a registration fee must be paid pursuant to C.R.S. 42-3-300 effective with any registration period that begins on or after July 1, 2009.

 

 

$16.00 motorcycles and vehicles that weigh 2,000 pounds or less

$23.00 vehicles that weigh between 2,001 and 5,000 pounds

$28.00 vehicles that weigh between 5,001 and 10,000 pounds

$37.00 passenger buses and vehicles that weigh between 10,001 and 16,000 pounds

$39.00 vehicles that weigh more than 16,000 pounds

 

 

Bridge Safety Surcharge

 

 

Bridge Safety Surcharge is imposed on any vehicle for which a registration fee must be paid pursuant to C.R.S. 42-3-300 effective with any registration period that begins on or after July 1, 2009.  The amounts listed below are the maximum surcharge amounts.

 

 

FY 2009-2010 the surcharge will be 50% of the maximum surcharge amount.

 

 

FY 2010-2011 the surcharge will be 75% of the maximum surcharge amount.

 

 

FY 2010-2011 the surcharge will be 100% of the maximum surcharge amount.

 

 

 

Bridge Safety Surcharge

July 1, 2009-June 30, 2010

July 1, 2010 - June 30, 2011

July 1, 2011 and after

Motorcycle, trailer coach, multipurpose trailer, or any vehicle that weighs 2000 pounds or less

$6.50

$9.75

$13.00

Vehicles that weigh between 2,001 and 5,000 pounds

$9.00

$13.50

$18.00

Vehicles that weigh between 5,001 and 10,000 pounds

$11.50

$17.25

$23.00

Passenger buses and vehicles that weigh between 10,001 and 16,000 pounds

$14.50

$21.75

$29.00

Vehicles that weigh more than 16,000 pounds

$16.00

$24.00

$32.00