Colorado Department of Agriculture
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

About the Board

Colorado State Conservation Board


    • Acts as a state board of appeals for the 76 conservation districts.
    • Administers and disburses funds for the purpose of assisting the districts.
    • Acts in an advisory capacity with the districts.
    • Coordinates the programs of all districts.
    • Undertakes studies of watershed planning.
    • Develops, implements and administers watershed flood prevention and underground water storage projects.
    • Distributes grants, services and materials for conservation purposes.


Colorado State Conservation Board Members:

Upper South Platte River Watershed
Mary Sue Liss

Upper Arkansas River Watershed
Carol Dunn

Margaret Lenz

Colorado, Gunnison and Dolores River Watersheds
Larry Sweeney

Lower Arkansas River Watershed
Harold Unwin

Republican and Lower South Platte River Watersheds
Milton Bud Mekelburg

San Juan River Basin
Vernon Lerette

Rio Grande Watershed
Brendon Rockey

White-Yampa and North Platte River Watersheds
Jim "J.D." Amick

Advisory Members:

John Salazar
Commissioner of Agriculture
Colorado Department of Agriculture

Jim Martin
Executive Director
Colorado Department of Natural Resources

Deborah Young
Director, Extension Service
Colorado State University

Lee Sommers
Director, Agricultural Experiment Station
Colorado State University