Critical Infrastrucutre

Critical Infrastructure

The following information about critical infrastructure is provided to offer a source for general information on matters relating to the protection of the State's critical infrastructures.


Critical Infrastructure Sectors:

There are eighteen (18) critical infrastructure sectors and key resources which were identified in the President's National Strategy for Homeland Security. To view the President's National Strategy, click here.


The 18 Critical Infrastructure Sectors and Key Resources are identified as follows:


  1. Agriculture & Food
  2. Banking and Finance
  3. Chemical & Hazardous Materials Industry
  4. Defense Industry Base
  5. Energy
  6. Emergency Services
  7. Information Technology
  8. Telecommunications
  9. Postal & Shipping
  10. Public Health
  11. Transportation
  12. Water
  13. National Monuments & Icons
  14. Commercial Assets
  15. Government Facilities
  16. Dams
  17. Nuclear Power Plants
  18. Critical Manufacturing


Critical Infrastructure and Key Resources:

The definitions provided in the National Strategy for Homeland Security, (NSHS) are as follows:

  • Critical infrastructures are defined as, ". . . those systems and assets, whether physical or virtual, so vital to the United States that the incapacity or destruction of such systems and assets would have a debilitating impact on security, national economic security, national public health or safety, or any combination of those matters."
  • Key Resources are defined as, " . . .individual targets whose destruction would not endanger vital systems, but could create local disaster or profoundly
  • damage our Nation's morale or confidence. Key assets include symbols or historical attractions, such as prominent national, state, or local monuments and icons. In some cases, these include quasi-public symbol that are identified strongly with the United States as a Nation, and fall completely under the jurisdiction of state and local officials or even private foundations. Key assets also include individual or localized facilities that deserve special protection because of their destructive potential or their value to the local
  • community."


The NSHS also identifies certain high-profile events as being strongly coupled to our national symbols or national morale and deserving of special protective efforts by the federal government.


Critical Infrastructure Frequently Asked Questions:


Q. How can I help protect critical infrastructure and key assets in Colorado?


A. Support your community by reporting suspicious activity to the Colorado Information Analysis Center (CIAC), at In the event of an emergency requiring immediate law enforcement assistance, always call 911.


Q. How is the federal government protecting critical infrastructure?


A. The U.S. Department of Homeland Security is tasked with critical infrastructure protection across the nation. For more information, please click here.


Q. How can I receive more general information for my business or community group?


A. Members of the Office of Prevention and Security are available for presentations on the Colorado Information Analysis Center and the Critical Infrastructure Protection Program. To discuss a presentation, please call 877-509-CIAC or email


Return to Top