Colorado Department of Revenue
Text  Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size

Breast Cancer license plate changes effective November 1, 2009

Released October 1, 2009. Current Information Available at: Breast Cancer Plate

 

Effective November 1, 2009 (information on the Breast Cancer plate prior to 11/01/09 can be obtained here ) House Bill 09-1164 created the Breast Cancer and Cervical Cancer Prevention and Treatment Fund, which is funded in part by a surcharge fee of $25.00 added to Breast Cancer license plate issuances and renewals.

 

Effective November 1, 2009 the following will be implemented:

 

  • All New Registrations and/or replaced Breast Cancer license plates are required to have the $25.00 surcharge applied to the transaction.
  • All renewals from November 1, 2009 to June 30, 2012 for Breast Cancer license plates are required to have the option to have the $25.00 surcharge applied to the transaction.  The surcharge is optional for this period and is not required to be paid to renew the plate.
    • Renewal post cards will be replaced with a letter detailing the surcharge option with instructions.  Online renewals will also allow for the option of payment of the surcharge for this period.
  • All renewals after June 30, 2012 will be required to have the $25.00 surcharge applied to the transaction.

 

The Breast and Cervical Cancer Prevention and Treatment Fund is created under the Colorado Medical Assistance Act. 

 

Information and administration of the Colorado Medical Assistance Act can be obtained by contacting the Department of Public Health and Environment.

 

Information and administration of the Breast and Cervical Cancer Prevention and Treatment Fund can be obtained by contacting the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing.