Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Barbara Brohl, Executive Director

Date appointed: 7/6/11

Senate Committee hearing date: 3/27/12

Senate Committee hearing vote: Confirmed, 6-0

Senate Vote date: 4/2/12

Senate vote: Confirmed -- Unanimous, 34-0

Salary: $146,040



Barbara Brohl is the Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Revenue and is responsible for Colorado’s Tax Division; the Division of Motor Vehicles; the Lottery; and Enforcement for Gaming, Liquor and Tobacco, Racing, and Medical Marijuana. The department has more than 1,500 employees and collects more than $11 billion in fees and taxes for the state annually.


Gov. John Hickenlooper appointed Brohl in July 2011. Brohl has served as the Amendment 64 Implementation Task Force co-chair. The task force provided recommendations on how the state should move forward with the implementation of the marijuana amendment to the governor, General Assembly and Attorney General.


Previously, Brohl was an attorney practicing telecommunications law with Qwest Communications, representing the company in multi-million dollar commercial transactions and addressing all legal and regulatory matters for a 23-state region. Brohl was an elected member of the Regional Transportation District Board of Directors where she set policy, advocated for transit at the federal and state levels and introduced a workforce development program.


Brohl continues to be active in the community. She is a board member of the Colorado Donor Awareness Council and Advisory; The Gathering Place; and the Hispanic Advisory Council for Florence Crittenton. Brohl received the 2008 Colorado Hispanic Bar Association’s Christopher A. Miranda “Outstanding Hispanic Lawyer” award; was the 2011 Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce Athena Award “Limitless” Finalist; and received the Boy Scouts of America Vale La Pena Service Award.


Born and raised in Colorado, Brohl earned a bachelor’s degree from Regis University and a J.D. from the Sturm College of Law at the University of Denver. She was a judicial law clerk for Colorado Supreme Court Justices Gregory J. Hobbs Jr. and William H. Erickson.