Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Gov. Hickenlooper names public trustees in eight counties

DENVER — Tuesday, Aug. 14, 2012 — Gov. John Hickenlooper announced today public trustee appointments for eight of the 10 counties in which he has statutory authority to fill the positions. In two counties, Mesa and Arapahoe, the search for new public trustees will continue.


Trustees in five counties were reappointed: George Kennedy in Douglas County; Thomas Mowle in El Paso County; Margaret Chapman in Jefferson County; Deborah Morgan in Larimer County; and Susie Velasquez in Weld County.


New trustees were named for three counties: Paul Weissmann, a former legislator and House Minority chief of staff, in Boulder County; Susan Orecchio, chief deputy public trustee in Adams County, in Adams County; and Saul Trujillo, acting chief investigator on the 10th Judicial District, in Pueblo County.


“It is essential that public servants maintain the public’s trust,” Hickenlooper said. “We expect that moving forward each of these trustees will continue to do just that.”


The Governor’s Office intends to seek legislative changes in January that deal with issues related to the state’s public trustees. The changes will be proposed in concert with counties and members of the General Assembly. No matter what form the legislation may take, it must maintain transparency, accountability and consistency among public trustees statewide.


Each of the newly-appointed public trustees is aware his or her job may change depending on what kind of legislation is ultimately approved next year.




About public trustees
Public Trustees handle public transactions and foreclosures on real estate properties. They oversee the administration of Deeds of Trust including releasing them when a loan has been satisfied and foreclosing in the event of default. The public trustee is also responsible for the collection of tax accounts for Land Purchase Contracts for Deed within his or her county.