Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Gov. Hickenlooper announces several Board and Commission appointments

Wednesday, April 20, 2011 — Gov. John Hickenlooper today announced appointments to the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, the State Agricultural Commission and the Caring for Colorado Foundation Board of Directors.

The Colorado Civil Rights Commission investigates complaints and conducts hearings concerning alleged discrimination in employment, apprenticeship programs, on-the-job training and vocational schools. The commission also investigates the existence of discriminatory or unfair employment practices by a person, employment agency, labor organization or vocational school. It is charged with the promotion of good will and cooperation among various racial, religious and ethnic groups in the state.

These appointments are dependent upon Senate confirmation. The members appointed are:

  • Susie Velasquez of Greeley, to serve as a representative of local or state government entities with a term to expire March 13, 2015.
  • Raju Jairam of Fort Collins, to serve as a representative of the business community with a term to expire March 13, 2015.
  • Katina C. Banks of Denver, to serve as a representative of the community at-large with a term to expire March 13, 2015.

The Caring for Colorado Foundation was endowed in 1999 with the proceeds of the sale of Blue-Cross Blue-Shield of Colorado to Anthem Inc. Its mission is to promote and serve the health care needs of the people of Colorado. To do so, the foundation makes grants in communities throughout the state to increase access to direct health services, to implement prevention programs, to share health information and to improve the health care infrastructure. Caring for Colorado strives to make lasting health improvements for individuals and communities.

The appointments are dependent upon Senate Confirmation and will expire on the date of the first annual meeting in 2015 of the Board of Directors of Caring for Colorado Foundation. The members appointed are:

  • Christy Whitney of Grand Junction.
  • Lynn M. Taussig of Greenwood Village.
  • Andrea L. Aragon of Pueblo.
  • David B. Soggee of Centennial.


For more information on Boards and Commissions, click here or e-mail boards@state.co.us.