Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Board Information


See Calendar for all scheduled meetings and/or rulemaking hearings including agendas!

Please note meeting dates are subject to change and/or cancellation.

Meetings and rulemaking hearings are normally held at 1560 Broadway, Denver, Colorado. For specific dates, times and locations, please refer to the Calendar and Agenda page.



The state electrical board consists of nine members appointed by the governor. Two members are electrical contractors who have master electrician’s licenses, two members are master or journeymen electricians who are not electrical contractors, one member is a representative of private, municipal, or cooperative electric utilities rendering electric service to the ultimate public, one member is a building official performing electrical inspections, one member is a general contractor, and two members are appointed from the public at large. All members serve for three-year terms are limited to two full terms.

As outlined in the Colorado Revised Statutes for Electricians, the Board is responsible to:


  • License and regulate electricians
  • Register and regulate electrical contractors and apprentice electricians
  • Oversee the administration of the electrical licensing examination
  • Investigate complaints against electricians, registered electrical apprentices, and electrical contractors
  • Conduct disciplinary hearings against electricians who are alleged to have violated the electrical law or Board rules
  • Issue disciplinary actions against electricians who violate the electrical law or Board rules
  • Renew electrical licenses and contractor registrations
  • Adopt and revise electrical rules
  • Conduct electrical inspections throughout the state except where any incorporated town, city, county, or city and county performs its own inspections


Board Member


Carol Pafford

Building Official

Scott Pandy General Contractor
Michael A. Miller Electrical Contractor
David Olson Public at Large Member
James E. Dent Vice-Chair, Electriclal Contractor
Joseph Badaracco Journeyman Electrician
John T. McCord III Chair, Master Electrician
Nancy K. White Secretary, Public at Large
Gary Lakey Electrical Utilities

Individuals interested in being appointed to an Electrical Board member position may contact the Governor's Office.

Office of Boards and Commissions
136 State Capitol
Denver, CO 80203
(303) 866-6368

Meeting Minutes

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.


facebook twitter


1560 Broadway, Suite 1350, Denver, CO 80202 Email
(303) 894-7800 - Phone (303) 894-7693 - Fax