Q. What is the authority, purpose, and effective date of the MHIP?
A. The authority for the MHIP is Colorado Revised Statute (CRS) 24-32-Part 33 and Colorado State Housing Board Resolution #38. The purpose of the program is to provide consumer protection for owners and life-safety protection for occupants of manufactured homes through the proper installation of these manufactured products. The program took effect on July 1, 2001. Inspections began on home installations after September 1, 2001.
Q. What home installations are covered by the MHIP?
A. The program covers the installation of all factory manufactured housing; this includes mobile homes (pre-1976 units), manufactured homes (HUD code units), and factory-built (modular) homes (IRC code compliant units). The program covers both private land and park community installations of new and used units.
Q. What are the MHIP standards for factory manufactured home installations?
A. The primary standard for a home installation is the manufacturers written installation instructions, which is required for all new homes. For used homes, where the installation instructions are no longer available, the alternate standard for temporary foundation sets is the NFPA 225, 2013 edition, as amended. Site-built permanent foundations must be built in accordance with local building department requirements. When there is no local building department authority, permanent foundations must be engineered or built to conform with the alternate standard for permanent foundation sets, which is the September, 1996 edition or most recent version of the HUD Permanent Foundations Guide for Manufactured Housing.
Q. Are concrete foundations required for temporary sets by the MHIP?
A. No. Temporary set piers may be dry stack concrete block, adjustable metal piers on plastic pads, engineered system, or other appropriate material/system designed for the intended use. Additionally, temporary set piers may be founded above frost line when the skirting is appropriately insulated, an engineered alternative is designed, or the footings are otherwise protected from frost heave.
Q. What are the installer registration requirements under the MHIP?
A. Manufactured home installers are required to register with the State of Colorado, Division of Housing (DOH) and maintain a minimum one million dollar ($1,000,000) liability insurance policy and a ten thousand dollar ($10,000) bond, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit. Installers must be at least 18 years old, have at least six-months installation or equivalent experience, and pass a program examination. Home and/or property owners installing no more than one home in any twelve-month period, are not required to register. As of July 1, 2002, installer registrations will cost $100.
Q. How can I get training for the MHIP exams?
A. A Home Study Course is available through DOH at a cost of $25.00. The Home Study Course is designed to provide individuals with the basic information necessary for passing the installer or inspector exam and the general requirements for the proper installation and inspection of manufactured homes. There is no time limit for completing the Home Study Course. After completing the course, individuals may arrange to take the installer or inspector exam.
Q. Who will inspect manufactured home installations under the MHIP?
A. Certified MHIP inspectors will inspect manufactured home installations. Participating local jurisdictions will have a certified inspector and be the exclusive inspection agency within their legal boundaries. Where there is no Participating Jurisdiction, installation inspections will be performed by a certified independent third-party inspector/inspection agency. Should a Participating Jurisdiction or multiple independent inspectors not cover any area, the Division of Housing (DOH) will provide inspection services. The Installation Authorization and installation instructions or alternate standard used for the installation must be on site for all inspections.
Q. How do I become a Certified Inspector for the MHIP?
A. Individuals can become Certified Inspectors for the MHIP by submitting an application to DOH with evidence of passing the MHIP inspector exam or proof of professional licensing in the State of Colorado as an Architect or Engineer. A $100 fee submission to the HTS Section and on-going continuing education requirements are required to be a MHIP Certified Inspector.
Q. Who should I contact for authorization to install a manufactured home?
A. Before beginning any manufactured home installation, the local jurisdiction must be contacted in order to properly coordinate requirements outside the scope of the MHIP. These issues include zoning, site development, utility services, permits and licensing requirements. The Installation Authorization will be issued by the agency providing the installation inspections (Participating Jurisdiction, independent inspector, or DOH). Additional program information as well as lists of Participating Jurisdictions and independent inspectors will be available on this DOH website.
Q. What are the costs of the MHIP?
A. The program allows Participating Jurisdictions and independent inspectors/agencies to establish appropriate fees for the issue of the Installation Authorization, inspections, and Certification Insignia. The DOH has a standard fee of $175 per inspection visit. Certified Installers may avoid inspection fees where they are allowed to self-inspect their work.
Q. What is a “Certified” Installer?
A. The MHIP allows installers to become “Certified” by demonstrating that the superior quality of their work does not require independent oversight inspections through actual installation performance on a minimum of five manufactured home installations. Certified Installers may issue the Installation Authorization, self-inspect the installation, and affix the Certification Insignia when there is no Participating Jurisdiction or where allowed by the Participating Jurisdiction.
Q. Resolution #38 states, “Application of the Certification of Installation Insignia is evidence that permanent utilities may be established”. Does this mean that no utilities can be connected until the home installation is completed?
A. No. Temporary utilities needed for the home installation may be established in accordance with utility provider requirements. The installation must be completed and the Certification Insignia affixed prior to releasing permanent utilities for home occupancy.
Q. What is the general process for a manufactured home installation under the MHIP?
A. The basic process for a manufactured home installation under MHIP is as follows:
1.Contact the local jurisdiction to coordinate local requirements.
2.Establish the installation inspection authority; Participating Jurisdiction, Certified Installer, independent inspector, or Division of Housing and acquire the Installation Authorization.
3.Post the Installation Authorization on site.
4.Coordinate required installation inspections. The Installation Authorization and installation instructions or alternate standard used for the installation must be on site for all inspections.
5.Have Certification Insignia affixed after inspection approval of the installation.
6.Have the authority for inspection make Insignia Reports as required.
Q. Are there alternative standards for temporary installations of units in parks, etc?
A. Some home manufacturers will allow new homes to have piers to be founded above frost line in park communities. For used homes, the alternate standard, NFPA 225, Chapater 6, as amended, provides alternatives to poured concrete foundations. Additionally, we have made provision for engineered alternatives that can be applied to multiple sites in a manufactured housing park or throughout a participating jurisdiction. We also will review under the alternative standards section, written recommendations from the chief building official of a local jurisdiction for use in temporary installations.
Q. Will we receive updated lists of registered installers?
Yes, the Colorado Division of Housing, Housing Technology and Standands (HTS) Section maintains a list of registered and certified installers on our web site.
Q. Can participating jurisdictions enforce additional installation requirements?
Yes, participating local jurisdictions can enforce additional installation requirements within the MHIP. Additional requirements must be submitted and approved by DOH. Jurisdictions that do not participate will have to coordinate additional requirements outside of the MHIP. Jurisdictions may not have standards that are less stringent than those promulgated by the Division of Housing.
Q. What connection does the NFPA Standard, 225-2013, have to State Housing Board Resolution #38?
State Housing Board Resolution #38 is the state regulation, which incorporates NFPA 225-2013 by reference as part of the regulation.