Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Comprehensive Plans

Cities and counties are authorized to prepare comprehensive plans as a long-range guiding document for a community to achieve their vision and goals.  The comprehensive plan (or master plan) provides the framework for regulatory tools like zoning, subdivision regulations, annexations, and other policies.  A comprehensive plan promotes the community's vision, goals, objectives, and policies; establishes a process for orderly growth and development; addresses both current and long-term needs; and provides for a balance between the natural and built environment.  (see C.R.S. 30-28-106 and 31-23-206).  Elements addressed in a comprehensive plan may include: recreation and tourism (required by C.R.S.), transportation, land use, economic development, affordable housing, environment, parks and open space, historic and cultural preservation, capital improvements, efficiency in government, sustainability, energy, and urban design. 

More on Comprehensive or Master Planning


Master Plan Primer

Updating the Master Plan and Land Use Regulations

Choosing a Consultant


Sample Comprehensive Plans


City of Aspen City of Englewood Town of Mead
Town of Ault  Town of Erie Town of Milliken
City of Aurora Town of Estes Park Town of Minturn
Town of Avon City of Evans Town of Morrison
Town of Basalt Town of Fairplay Town of Mountain Village
Town of Bayfield City of Florence Town of Nederland
Town of Bennett City of Fort Collins Town of New Castle
Town of Berthoud City of Fort Lupton City of Northglenn
City of Black Hawk City of Fort Morgan Town of Orchard City
City of Boulder City of Fountain Town of Pagosa Springs
Town of Breckenridge Town of Fowler Town of Palisade
City of Brighton Town of Foxfield Town of Parker
City and County of Broomfield Town of Frederick Town of Poncha Springs
City of Brush! Town of Frisco City of Pueblo
Town of Buena Vista City of Fruita Town of Rangely
City of Canon City Town of Georgetown Town of Rico
Town of Carbondale City of Glenwood Springs Town of Ridgway
Town of Castle Rock City of Golden City of Rifle
Town of Cedaredge City of Greeley Town of Saguache
City of Centennial City of Greenwood Village City of Salida
Central City City of Gunnison Town of Severance
City of Cherry Hills Village Town of Gypsum City of Sheridan
City of Colorado Springs Town of Hayden Town of Silt
Town of Columbine Valley Town of Hudson Town of Silverthorne
City of Commerce City City of Idaho Springs Town of Snowmass Village
City of Cortez Town of Johnstown City of Steamboat Springs
City of Cripple Creek City of Lafayette Town of Superior
City of Dacono City of Lakewood Town of Telluride
Town of Deer Trail City of Lamar City of Thornton
City of Delta City of Littleton Town of Timnath
City and County of Denver City of Longmont

Town of Vail

City of Durango City of Louisville

Town of Westcliffe

Town of Eagle City of Loveland Town of Windsor
City of Edgewater Town of Lyons City of Woodland Park 
Town of Elizabeth Town of Mancos  




Are we missing something?  Please contact us with suggestions or to add your examples to our website.


We want your input!