Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Division of Housing (DOH) Rental Assistance

The Division of Housing operates the following programs using Section 8 funding:


The Family Self Sufficiency program

Family self-sufficiency (FSS) is a HUD program that encourages communities to develop local strategies to help voucher families obtain employment that will lead to economic independence and self-sufficiency. Public housing agencies (PHAs) work with welfare agencies, schools, businesses, and other local partners to develop a comprehensive program that gives participating FSS family members the skills and experience to enable them to obtain employment that pays a living wage. A separate program, the public housing FSS program, is available for public housing residents.


The Section 8 Homeownership program

Certain Division of Housing (DOH) subcontractors offer the homeownership program to DOH participants who are interested in purchasing their own home, and the voucher may be applied toward the family’s portion of a mortgage.

Household members must meet certain requirements including those established by HUD as stated in 24 CFR 982 part 625-642. Additionally, homes must also meet minimum standards of health and safety, as determined by housing quality standards.

A housing subsidy is paid to the mortgage holder on behalf of the participating family. The family then pays their portion in accordance with their income.


Links to:

DOH Section 8 Homeownership Guidelines

24 CFR 982 part 625-642