Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Specialized Group Facility

It is the policy of the Colorado Department of Human Services ("the State Department") to promote and encourage child care in environments that contribute to the safety, health, protection and well-being of children. To verify compliance with standards intended to ensure such an environment, the State Department requires thorough and ongoing appraisals of child care facilities, persons working in the child care profession, and the nature of care provided.

 

Definition of a Specialized Group Facility per 7.709.1 A.

 

The "Specialized Group Facility" (SGF) is sponsored and supervised by a county department of social/human services henceforth to be known as the county) or a licensed child placement agency (henceforth to be known as the agency) for the purpose of providing 24 hour care for three (3) or more children, but fewer than 12 children from three years old to sixteen years old and for children from 16 to 18 years old and those persons 21 years old who are placed by court order prior to their eighteenth birthday whose special needs may best be met through the medium of the small group. The two types of specialized group facilities are the specialized group home and the specialized group center.

  1. A "specialized group home" is located in a house owned or otherwise controlled by the group home parents who are primarily responsible for the care of the children and reside therein.
  2. A "specialized group center" is located in a house owned or controlled by a governing body that hires the group center parents or personnel who are primarily responsible for the care of the children.

     

 

Applying for a Specialized Group Facility License 
 

The links below contain the information and forms you need to apply for a license to operate a Specialized Group Facility. It is very important for you to complete all of the application requirements. Allow approximately ninety (90) days to become licensed after the Division of Child Care receives your completed application packet. Child care rules and finger print cards may be ordered from State Forms.

 

Your application packet will contain the following items:
 

 

A completed application package and licensing fee must be submitted to the Division of Child Care at least 90 days prior to the proposed opening date of the facility. After approval of the application package, a licensing specialist schedules an inspection of the facility, and determines whether or not a license should be issued. Applicants, owners, and employees of licensed child care facilities must also submit fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation for a Criminal Background Check, and their names must be checked against the Central Registry of Child Protection.  Fingerprint cards are used to obtain criminal record checks from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The same card is used for both the CBI and FBI criminal record checks.

 

  • Complete the following items on each card: Name (full name), Aliases (all aliases), Citizenship, Social Security Number, Address, and Reason Fingerprinted (CRS 26-6-107).
  • Also, be certain to complete the physical description portion of the card (Sex, Race, Height, Weight, Eyes, and Hair), Date of Birth, and Place of Birth. Leave the “Employer and Address” space blank. 
  • Take the fingerprint card(s) to a local law enforcement agency, such as a police department or sheriff’s office, for fingerprinting. Fingerprints cards can be obtained and fingerprinting can be completed at State Forms located at 4999 Oakland Street, Denver, CO 80239. The official taking the fingerprints must sign and date the card(s) and witness the signature of the individual(s) being fingerprinted. 
  • As per rule 7.701.33 A.2.b. "Specialized group home parents and any person living or working in a twenty-four (24) hour child care facility shall submit to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) a complete set of fingerprints taken by a qualified law enforcement agency to obtain any criminal record held by the CBI or FBI. On or before January 1, 2011 and thereafter, programs shall document in employee files that submission for such request has been completed." 

 

PLEASE DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARDS. If more fingerprint cards are needed, contact the Division of Child Care, Colorado Department of Human Services at 303-866-5958 or 1-800-799-5876. 
 

Licensing Fees: Please make out a check or money order, payable to the Colorado Department of Human Services, to cover the application fee. Please see the fee schedule.

 

FBI and CBI Fingerprint fees: Please submit a check with the fingerprint cards to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation, 690 Kipling, Suite 300, Lakewood, CO 80215. NOTE: Please maintain a copy of the final fingerprint cards for your personnel files.

  • CBI Fees - $17.50 per individual
  • FBI Fees - $22.00 per individual

 

Background Investigation Unit Facility Inquiry Form: This form must be completed for each adult that provides care for children, which includes permanent substitute(s) and for any adult age 18 years or older living in the provider's home. The completed form must be accompanied by a SEPARATE check or money order for $33.00, made payable to CDHS, BIU Records and Reports. Include the completed form and check with your application packet.


 

Return the following items to the Division of Child Care:

 

  • Completed and signed Application for a Specialized Group Facility License
  • Completed and signed Background Investigation Unit Facility Inquiry Form and separate check or money order (if required)
  • Check or money order, payable to the Colorado Department of Human Services (for the Specialized Group Facility Application fee)
  • Mail all items listed to: Application Processing Division of Child Care, Colorado Department of Human Services, 1575 Sherman Street, 1st Floor, Denver, CO 80203-1714. 

Submit the following items to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation:

  • Completed fingerprint cards 
  • Check or money order for the CBI and FBI fees
  • Mail all litems listed to: Colorado Bureau of Investigation, 690 Kipling, Sutie 3000, Lakewood, CO 80215

 

After the Division of Child Care receives the items above and processes your application, a licensing specialist will contact you to set-up a time to inspect your facility to verify that you have complied with all of the licensing rules and regulations.


 

If you have additional questions, please call 303-866-5958 or 1-800-799-5876 to speak with a licensing specialist.

 

Thank you.