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Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations 
Office of Licensing—Medical 

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350 
Denver, CO  80202 

Phone: (303) 894-7800 / Fax: (303) 894-7693 
www.dora.colorado.gov/professions  

 
APPLICATION FOR PHYSICIAN TRAINING LICENSE 

 
APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS 

 
Basic Requirements. Requirements for physician training licensure are outlined in the Medical Practice Act, specifically 
C.R.S. 12-36-122, and the Board’s Rules and Policies. The Medical Practice Act, complete rules and policies, and more 
information about physician training licensure can be found on our website at 
www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/physicians. Please also refer to the Frequently Asked Questions located at the end of 
this application. 

► All physicians participating in an internship, residency or fellowship are required to hold a physician 
training license or an active Colorado medical license. Upon notification to the Colorado Medical Board from 
the training program of acceptance into the training program, the applicant will have 60 days to complete and 
submit a training application.  

 
► You are not required to complete a training license application if: 

1. You currently hold a full, active Colorado medical license. 

2. You are completing a Colorado training rotation in an approved internship, residency, or fellowship 
(as defined in Colorado law) that will last for no more than an aggregate period of 60 days. 

3. You are doing a rural rotation in conjunction with a non-Colorado training program and will be in 
the rotation for less than 60 days. 

 
In compliance with the Michael Skolnik Medical Transparency Act of 2010, all applicants are required to complete and 
maintain an online Healthcare Professions Profile on our website at www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/hppp.  
 
About the Application. This application is to be completed by you and returned to the Office of Licensing. All questions on 
the application are mandatory, and all supporting documents must be submitted with the application. You may copy as many 
forms as needed; however, each form submitted must be completed in original ink or typed. Keep a copy of the completed 
application for your records. 

 
Social Security Number is Required.  Effective January 1, 2009, a Social Security Number is required for all 
licensees.  The Division will consider an application to be incomplete when the applicant fails to submit his/her Social 
Security Number. Exceptions are made for foreign nationals not physically present in the United States and for non-
immigrants in the United States on student visas who do not have a Social Security Number. These applicants must submit a 
signed Social Security Number Affidavit in lieu of a Social Security Number. The affidavit is available on our website at 
www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/physicians, or you may call (303) 894-7800 to request that one be mailed to you. 
 
Disclosure of Addresses. Consistent with Colorado law, all addresses and phone numbers on record with the Division are 
public record and must be provided to the public when requested. It is your responsibility to keep your address and contact 
information up-to-date in our database. All letters, renewal notices, and licenses are mailed to the last known address of 
record. If your address is not current, it is possible you will not receive important documents. You can change your 
address online by using Online Services at www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices.  
 
License Expiration and Renewal. Regardless of the date issued, all training licenses expire on August 31, three years from 
the year of issue, and may be renewed for three years thereafter. A training license can be granted for a total aggregate 
period of six (6) years, at which time you would need to apply for full licensure. 
 

► Renewal notices are mailed to the address of record approximately six (6) weeks prior to the expiration date. 
Physician training licenses must be renewed to continue practicing. 

  

http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions
http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/physicians
http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/hppp
http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/physicians
http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices
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APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS (Continued) 
 
Checking Your Application Status. Visit Online Services at www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices to track 
your application from the date we log it in our database to the date your license is printed. Please allow us enough time 
to receive the application through the mail and enter your application into our database before you check the website. We 
recommend waiting at least 10 business days from date of mailing before checking the status of your application. 
 

APPLICANT CHECKLIST 
 
To apply for a Colorado Physician Training license: 
 

 Complete the attached application. Return the completed application and all supporting documentation to the 
Office of Licensing. 

 
 Enclose the non-refundable application processing fee. See page 1 of the application form for current fees. Fees 

may be paid by a check or money order drawn in U.S. dollars on a U.S. bank and made payable to State of 
Colorado. All fees are non-refundable and subject to change every July 1. 

 
 Complete and return the attached Affidavit of Eligibility form. Pursuant to C.R.S .24-34-107, all applicants for 

licensure are required to complete and sign an Affidavit of Eligibility, and may also be required to provide a copy of a 
secure and verifiable document. 

 
 Provide documentation of any name change. If your name has changed since you obtained a previously-issued 

license, or if your name is different on any of your supporting documentation, you must provide a copy of the legal 
document verifying the name change (i.e., marriage license, divorce decree, or court order). 

 
 Request to have the attached Training Program Statement completed by the Program Director, Clinical 

Director, or Training Supervisor of your training program. 

► NOTE: If a separate statement has already been submitted to the Board, this section does 
not need to be completed. Please check with your training program to see if this information 
has been submitted to the Colorado Medical Board. 

 
 Complete an online Healthcare Professions Profile. Once your application is received and entered into the 

Division of Professions and Occupations database, you must create a Healthcare Professions Profile on our website 
at www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/hppp. You may begin checking the Healthcare Professions Profiling Program 
(HPPP) website within a few days of submitting your application. If you cannot create your profile within 14 days of 
submitting your application, or if you have questions or technical issues regarding your online profile, contact the 
Healthcare Professions Profiling Program at (303) 894-5942. Your application is not considered complete, and a 
license will not be issued until you have submitted the online profile. 

 
 

Return your completed application packet and all supporting documentation to: 
 

Division of Professions and Occupations  
Office of Licensing—Medical 

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350 
Denver, CO  80202 

http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices
http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/hppp


1560  Broadway,  Suite  1350        Denver,  Colorado  80202        Phone  303.894.7800 
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I M P O R T A N T  N O T I C E    
TO:   All Applicants 

FROM:  Director of the Division of Professions and Occupations 

SUBJECT: Licensure and Criminal History 

Thank you for your interest in becoming a licensed* professional within the Division of Professions and 
Occupations. Before you submit your application, please be aware of a few facts regarding criminal 
conduct, convictions, and disciplinary actions in other states. 

The mission of the Division of Professions and Occupations is “public protection through effective 
licensure and enforcement.” One way the Division safeguards consumers is by issuing licenses to fully 
qualified, competent, and ethical applicants. 

During the licensing process – and depending on the specific application – the Division will ask whether 
you have ever been disciplined in any state, arrested, charged, convicted, or pled guilty to a crime. An 
arrest, subsequent criminal conviction, or disciplinary action is not an automatic disqualification from 
licensure. Instead, the appropriate board or program will look at the facts surrounding the criminal 
conduct and disciplinary action to determine whether you are fit for licensure. You should know that 
licensure is a privilege, not a right. One thing you must do to obtain the privilege is to be completely 
honest on your application. 

Be sure to list all relevant complaints, disciplinary actions, arrests, charges, or convictions in response 
to the licensure questions. Failure to fully disclose could constitute grounds alone for denial of your 
application or revocation of your license. More important, avoid some of the common excuses we have 
heard from people who failed to disclose, such as: 

• My attorney told me I didn’t have to disclose the criminal conduct or disciplinary actions. 

• I didn’t think the prior conduct had anything to do with the profession. 

• I didn’t think the disciplinary action, arrest, charges, or conviction was still on my record. 

• I didn’t think it was subject to disclosure because I received a deferred sentence/judgment. 

Remember, there is no excuse not to disclose disciplinary actions and criminal conduct. Even after 
licensure, you are still required to notify your professional licensing board or program about subsequent 
convictions and disciplinary actions in other states. 

The Division conducts audits of its licensing database against several criminal and national disciplinary 
databases. This allows the Division to verify the truthfulness of your application and track subsequent 
criminal and disciplinary conduct after initial licensure. Keep in mind, you will not necessarily be 
revoked or denied a license if you have been disciplined, arrested, charged or convicted, but you will 
most likely be denied or revoked if you fail to disclose it. 

*The word "license" is used as a general term. While most of the professions and occupations are licensed, others may be registered, 
certified, or listed. For precise terminology and requirements related to a profession or occupation, please consult the website of the 
appropriate board or program. 
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Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies 
Division of Professions and Occupations 

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350 
Denver, CO 80202 

 
Licensee/Applicant Full Legal Name 

Last First Middle Suffix 

    

 
Colorado Professional or Occupational License/Certification/Registration Number:       

(if already licensed) 
 
Professional or Occupational License/Certification/Registration type applying for: _________________________  
 

 
AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY 

 

 
Pursuant to H.B. 06S-1009, C.R.S. 24-34-107, ALL applicants for original licensure* or licensees renewing or reinstating a 
current Colorado license after January 1, 2007 are required to complete and sign this Affidavit of Eligibility. 
 
*The word "licensure" is used as a general term. While most of the professions and occupations are licensed, others may be certified, registered, or 
listed. For precise terminology and requirements related to a profession or occupation, please consult the website of the appropriate board or program. 
 

Section A: LAWFUL PRESENCE in the United States 
1.  I am a U.S. citizen.  Check one of the acceptable secure and verifiable documents in Section B that applies and 

fully complete the information requested. Complete documentation must be provided upon request. 

2.  I am not a U.S. citizen, but I am lawfully present in the U.S. and authorized by the Department of Homeland Security 
to be employed in the U.S.  Check one of the acceptable secure and verifiable documents in Section B that 
applies and fully complete the information requested.  Complete documentation must be provided upon request. 

3.  I am not physically present in the U.S. under 8 U.S.C. sec. 1621 (c)(2)(c) or employed in the U.S. pursuant to 8 U.S.C. 
sec. 1621 (c)(2)(a). Check one option, a or b below, then skip to Section C. (Do not complete Section B.) 

  a.  I am a U.S. citizen, not physically present or employed in the United States. 

  b.  I am a Foreign National, not physically present or employed in the United States. 
 

Section B: SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENTS 
Select ONE document in this section if you checked 1 or 2 in Section A. 

Government Issued 
Identification 

Name of state agency 
or federal agency that 
issued the document 

Full name as shown on driver’s 
license or state/federal issued ID 

License/ID 
Number 

Expiration 
Date 

(mm/dd/yyyy)
 Driver’s license or 

permit     
 Government issued 

ID card     
 Valid U.S. military 

ID/common access 
card     

 Colorado 
Department of 
Corrections inmate 
ID     

 Tribal ID card 
     

 U.S. passport 
     

 Certificate of 
Naturalization     
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Section B: SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENTS (continued) 

Government Issued 
Identification 

Name of state agency 
or federal agency that 
issued the document 

Full name as shown on driver’s 
license or state/federal issued ID 

License/ID 
Number 

Expiration 
Date 

(mm/dd/yyyy)
 Certificate of (U.S.) 

Citizenship     
 Valid Temporary 

Resident card     
 Valid I-94 issued by 

Canadian 
government     

 Valid I-94 with 
refugee/asylum 
stamp     

 Valid I-766 (Employment Authorization Card) 
Issuing federal agency: 
 

Name on card Alien Number (A#) Card Number 
Valid from 

(mm/dd/yyyy)
Expires 

(mm/dd/yyyy)
     

 Valid I-551 (Resident Alien or Permanent Resident Card) 
Issuing federal agency: 
 

Name on card Alien Number (A#) 
Country of 

birth 
Card expires 
(mm/dd/yyyy)

Resident since
(mm/dd/yyyy)

     

 Valid foreign passport with an unexpired visa with proper classification for work authorization, and an unexpired I-94 

Issuing foreign 
country Passport Number Visa Number 

Visa Class  
(ex.: J-1, P-1, 

H-1B, etc.)
Date of entry 
(mm/dd/yyyy)

Until date 
(mm/dd/yyyy)

      
 

 Valid foreign passport bearing an unexpired “Processed for I-551” stamp or with an attached unexpired “Temporary I-551” 
visa 

Issuing foreign country: 
 

Passport Number: 
 

 
Section C: ATTESTATION 

 
• I understand that this sworn statement is required by law because I have applied for or hold a professional or 

commercial license regulated by 8 U.S.C. sec. 1621. I understand that state law requires me to provide proof that I 
am lawfully present in the United States when asked as well as submission of a secure and verifiable document. I may 
also be required to provide proof of lawful presence. 

• I understand that in accordance with sections 18-8-503 and 18-8-501(2)(a)(I), C.R.S., false statements made herein 
are punishable by law. I state under penalty of perjury in the second degree, as defined in 18-8-503, C.R.S. that the 
above statements are true and correct. 

• I am the person identified above and the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I 
understand that under Colorado law, providing false information is grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of a 
license, certificate, registration or permit. 

• I understand that the above information must be disclosed to the Department of Regulatory Agencies upon request 
and is subject to verification. 

 
               
Print Full Legal Name  

 
               
Signature (Full Name) Date 

 

 



*Social Security Number Disclosure: Section 24-34-107(1) of the Colorado Revised Statutes requires that every application by an individual for a license issued 
pursuant to the authority set forth in title 12, C.R.S., by the Department of Regulatory Agencies, shall require the applicant's social security number. Disclosure of your 
social security number is mandatory for purposes of establishing, modifying, or enforcing child support under § 14-14-113 and § 26-13-126, C.R.S.; locating an 
individual who is under an obligation to pay child support as required by § 26-13-107(3)(a)(I)(A), C.R.S.; and reporting to the National Practitioner Data Bank pursuant 
to 45 CFR §§ 60.1 et seq., and the Health Integrity and Protection Data Bank as required by 45 CFR §§ 61.1 et seq. Failure to provide your social security number for 
these mandatory purposes will result in the denial of your licensure application. Disclosure of your social security number is voluntary for disclosure to other state 
regulatory agencies, testing and examination vendors, law enforcement agencies, and other private federations and associations involved in professional regulation. 
Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law. 

OFFICE USE ONLY LICENSE NUMBER: ____________________________ DATE ISSUED: _________________________________ 
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Division of Professions and Occupations 
Office of Licensing–Medical 
(303) 894-7800 / Fax (303) 894-7693 
www.dora.colorado.gov/professions  

Application 
PHYSICIAN TRAINING LICENSE 

Fee: $10 

The content of this application must not be changed. If the content is changed, 
the applicant may be referred to the Colorado State Attorney General’s Office for violation of Colorado law. 

 
Fees may be paid by a check or money order drawn in U.S. dollars on a U.S. bank and made payable to State of Colorado. 

 
PART 1—APPLICANT INFORMATION 

Name:   Last:  MD 

 DO 

First: Middle: Suffix: 

Previous Name(s): 

Social Security Number: *  Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy):  Gender:    Male    Female 

Place of Birth (city and state, or foreign country): 

Mailing Address: 

This is a  Home  Business 

PO Box, Street: 

City, State, Zip: 

Daytime Telephone Number: (          ) E-mail Address: 

Preferred method for communication:     Mail   E-mail 

 
PART 2—EDUCATION / TRAINING PROGRAM 

List the name and address of the school where your medical degree was received: 
 
     Name of School                                                    Location (city and state)                    Years Attended (from / to) 
 
                     
 

List information about the specialty program into which you have been accepted: 
 
     Name of School                                          Address                                   Telephone Number     Start Date in Program 
 
                     
 

    Is the training position you are filling a: 
           CATEGORICAL – a permanent position for the duration of your program? 
           PRELIMINARY NON-DESIGNATED – you have not yet matched into a permanent program? 
           PRELIMINARY DESIGNATED – from which you will transfer to       upon completion? 
                                                                                                                                            (name/location of subsequent program) 
 

Have you received and/or completed additional postgraduate training approved by the    
ACGME/AOA in U.S. or Canadian programs in addition to the program listed above? 

 YES    NO 

     ► If YES, provide information below: 

     Name of Facility Specialty Years Attended (from / to) 
 

        
 

http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions


 APPLICANT NAME: ________________________________________ 
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PART 3—LICENSE INFORMATION 

A. Have you ever been licensed to practice medicine in any state, territory, district, or 
country? (including temporary licenses and educational permits) 

 YES    NO 

     ► If YES, provide a complete list of all medical licenses (if needed, attach an additional sheet in the same format): 

 
Type of license 

 
State/Country 

 
License Number 

Year license 
issued 

Disciplinary action 
against license? 

Is this license 
current/active? 

     YES    NO  YES    NO 

     YES    NO  YES    NO 

     YES    NO  YES    NO 

B. Have you ever filed an application in Colorado?  YES    NO 

     ► If YES, give date of previous application:         

 
PART 4—SCREENING QUESTIONS 

1. Have you ever been notified by any state, territory, district, or country, U.S. government agency, or state medical/osteopathic 
licensing board of any complaint, investigation, or inquiry which is currently pending? 

► If YES, give details below AND request official complaint and/or investigative report be sent directly to the Board from 
the licensing body, as well as personally submit a narrative regarding the complaint. 

 

 YES      NO 

                   Agency                                          Date                               Charge                                                                      Disposition_________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. Has any healing arts license which you now hold or have ever held been admonished, reprimanded, censured and/or 
disciplined in any way by any licensing agency in another state or country, by any peer review committee or body, by any 
healthcare facility or committee thereof, by any professional or medical society or association or committee thereof, or by any 
governmental agency, law enforcement agency or court of law? (Disciplinary actions include, but are not limited to, any 
allegations currently pending.) Washington licensees must disclose any Stipulation to Informal Disposition in response to this 
question. 

► If YES, give details below AND request all official disciplinary documents including initial complaint, stipulations, orders 
or reprimands be sent directly to the Board, as well as a narrative regarding the action taken. 

 

 YES      NO 

                   Agency                                          Date                               Charge                                                                      Disposition_________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

3. Have you ever entered into any agreement with any state, territory, district, country, U.S. government agency, and state 
medical/osteopathic board regarding your medical license? 

► If YES, give details below AND request all official disciplinary documents including initial complaint, stipulations, orders 
or reprimands be sent directly to the Board. Also submit your narrative regarding the action taken. 

 

 YES      NO 

                   Agency                                                          Date                               Reason_____________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

4. Have you ever been denied a license, permission to practice medicine or any other healing art, or permission to take an 
examination in any state, country, or U.S. federal jurisdiction? 

► If YES, give details below AND request all official disciplinary documents including initial complaint, stipulations, orders, 
agreements or reprimands be sent directly to the Board. Also submit your narrative regarding the action taken. 

 

 YES      NO 

                   Agency                                                            Date                               Reason for Denial___________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 



 APPLICANT NAME: ________________________________________ 
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PART 4—SCREENING QUESTIONS (Continued) 

5. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to practice medicine or any other healing arts in any other state, country, or 
U.S. federal jurisdiction? This does not include allowing your license to expire solely due to non-payment of the renewal fee. 

► If YES, summarize below AND request all official disciplinary documents including initial complaint, stipulations, orders, 
agreements or reprimands be sent directly to the Board. Also submit your narrative regarding the action taken. 

 

 YES      NO 

                   Agency                                                             Date                               Reason____________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

6. Have either your medical staff membership or clinical privileges at any hospital or healthcare facility or your DEA registration 
been voluntarily or involuntarily reduced, limited, placed on probation, not renewed or relinquished or have either been 
denied, revoked or suspended? You must answer YES if any of these actions are currently pending. You must answer YES if 
you have withdrawn or failed to proceed with an application for these items. 

► If YES, summarize below AND request hospital or DEA to submit a report directly to the Board regarding the action. Also 
submit your narrative regarding the action taken. 

 

 YES      NO 

                   Name of Facility                                              Date                               Reason for Action___________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

7. Have you ever been charged, indicted, convicted, received a deferred prosecution, received a deferred judgment and 
sentence, entered a plea of guilty, entered a plea of nolo contendere, or been placed on adult diversion for any violation of 
any law? Note: It is unnecessary to report traffic offenses that do not involve alcohol or drugs. 

► If YES, summarize below AND submit your narrative regarding the incident as well as court and police records and 
information regarding final disposition of the case. 

 

 YES      NO 

                   Date                      Court                                                             Violation                                                    Penalty or Disposition____________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

8. Do you now abuse or excessively use, or have you in the last five years abused or excessively used, any habit forming drug, 
including alcohol, or any controlled substance that has a) resulted in any accusation or discipline for misconduct, unreliability, 
neglect of work, or failure to meet professional responsibilities; or b) affected your ability to practice as a physician safely and 
competently? 

 YES      NO 

9. In the last five years, have you been diagnosed with or treated for a condition that significantly disturbs your cognition, 
behavior, or motor function, and that may impair your ability to practice as a physician safely and competently, including but 
not limited to bipolar disorder, severe major depression, schizophrenia or other major psychotic disorder, a neurological 
illness, or sleep disorder? 
 

 YES      NO 

You may answer NO to Question 8 or 9 if the behavior or condition is already known to the Colorado Physician Health Program (CPHP). “Known to CPHP” 
means that you have informed CPHP of your behavior or condition and you are complying with all of CPHP’s requirements for evaluation, treatment, and/or 
monitoring. 
 
If you answer YES to Question 8 or 9, submit detailed information to the Board that will allow the Board to assess your ability to practice safely, 
competently, and without impairment to your professional judgment, skill, or knowledge. In addition to that information, you are required to provide copies of 
any related records, reports, evaluations, police reports, probation reports, and court records directly to the Board. 
 
Please be advised that an affirmative response to Question 8 or 9 may result in a request from the Board for evaluation by the Colorado Physician 
Health Program (CPHP). The CPHP evaluation process could potentially delay consideration of an application. Therefore, the Board is providing advance 
notice of this possibility so that applicants may contact CPHP to schedule an evaluation at the beginning of the application process. By doing so, the 
application for licensure should not be unduly delayed. An applicant is not required to contact CPHP in advance of Board consideration of the application. 
The applicant may choose to wait for a specific decision by the Board that a CPHP evaluation is necessary. This information is being provided to put 
applicants on notice with respect to this potential requirement and afford the applicant the opportunity to expedite the process if he or she so desires. 
(Colorado Physicians Health Program – CPHP, 899 Logan Street, #410, Denver, CO  80203; (303) 860-0122.) 

 
  



 APPLICANT NAME: ________________________________________ 
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PART 4—SCREENING QUESTIONS (Continued) 

10. Within the last five years, has any final judgment, settlement or arbitration award for medical malpractice been paid on your 
behalf or has any claim been filed which is still pending? 

► If YES, list below and complete the attached Claims Information Form. 

 YES      NO 

                   Date                                            Name and Address of Insurance Company                               Reason for Action_____________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

11. Have you ever been refused malpractice insurance, or has your malpractice insurance ever been canceled or rated at a 
higher premium due to past claims experience? 

► If YES, submit to the Board an explanation regarding the cancellation or increase in premiums of the insurance and 
verification directly from the insurance company to the Board. 

 YES      NO 

 
 

PART 5—SECURITY OF PATIENT MEDICAL RECORDS 

  By checking this box, I attest that I have developed a written plan to ensure the security of patient medical records 
in compliance with C.R.S. 12-36-140. 
 

 

ATTESTATION 

I hereby make application for a license to practice medicine in the state of Colorado. In so doing, I authorize all hospitals, 
institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past and present), business and professional 
associations (past and present), and all government agencies (local, state, federal and foreign), which includes state medical 
licensing boards and the Federation of State Medical Boards, to release to the licensing Board any information, files or 
records requested by the Board in connection with the processing of this application. I further authorize this Board to release 
to the organizations, individuals and groups listed above any information which is material to my application or pertinent to 
my practice of medicine during the processing of this application and the time that I am a licensee of this Board. 
 
I understand that this license will apply only to the training program I am currently entering, and will only be transferable to a 
subsequent program if I am currently matched into that subsequent program as a requirement of my training program. I will 
not practice in any other subsequent training program until a new valid training license has been issued to me. 
 
I understand that this license will only be valid for the training program listed within this application, and should I wish to 
practice medicine in Colorado outside the training environment, I would need to apply for a license to practice medicine in the 
state of Colorado. 
 
I further understand that the issuance of this training license is not a guarantee of issuance of a license to practice medicine 
in the state of Colorado. 
 
I state under penalty of perjury in the second degree, as defined in C.R.S. 18-8-503, that the information contained in 
this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. In accordance with C.R.S. 18-8-501(2)(a)(I), false 
statements made herein are punishable by law and may constitute violation of the practice act. 
 
 
                
Applicant Signature        Date 



 

 

 

TRAINING PROGRAM STATEMENT 
 

 
This statement to be completed by 

Program Director, Clinical Director, or Training Supervisor. 
 

NOTE: If a separate statement has already been submitted to the Board, this section does not 
need to be completed. Please check with your training program to see if this information has 
been submitted to the Colorado Medical Board. 

 
 
Name of Colorado Training Program / Specialty: 
 
                
 
 
Address of Training Program: 
 
       
 
 
I certify that this applicant meets the criteria set forth in C.R.S. 12-36-122 (2)(a), and that the training program 
indicated above will accept responsibility for the applicant’s medical training while in the program. 
 
This applicant is filling a 

 CATEGORICAL – a permanent position for the duration of their program. 

 PRELIMINARY NON-DESIGNATED – they have not yet matched into a permanent program. 

 PRELIMINARY DESIGNATED – from which they will transfer to the following upon completion: 
 

                
(Name / location of subsequent program) 

 
 
As the Program Director, I understand that upon completion of the program, I have the responsibility to notify 
the Board that this applicant has completed their training in my program and will also advise the Board if the 
applicant is entering a subsequent training program after completion of the preliminary year(s). I further 
understand, and will advise the applicant, that if they are in a preliminary program attested to by my signature, 
that a signed attestation from the Program Director of the categorical (permanent) program must be submitted 
to the Board within 60 days of starting in that program, or their license will expire and they will need to reapply. 
 
 
                
Signature of Program Director, Clinical Director, or Supervising Physician   Date 
   of Colorado Training Program (must be a Colorado licensed physician) 
 
 
                
Print name         Colorado license number 
 
                
Name of contact for program       Program contact phone number 
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COLORADO MEDICAL BOARD 
CLAIMS INFORMATION FORM 

 

 

Applicant: Complete this form for each liability or malpractice claim identified in the application Screening 
Question regarding malpractice. 
 
                
Name of Physician       Business Telephone Number 
 
                
Address        City, State, ZIP 
 
 
1. On a separate sheet of paper, type your full name and provide a clinical narrative regarding each malpractice 

case(s) / allegations. Include name of patient, age, sex, date of occurrence, and location (include address). Do 
not omit the answers to these questions or make reference to attached documents for answers. This section 
must be completed with your own description, which includes all of the facts requested above. Simply stating 
that the charges were dismissed is inadequate, more detail must be provided. 

 
2. Indicate your position in case, i.e., intern, resident, primary doctor, etc.      

               
               
               
               
                

 
3. Case was filed against:   Individual doctor  Group  Hospital 
 

List names of other doctors and/or hospitals also named in the suit:       
               
               
               
                

 
4. Plaintiff’s Attorney and Telephone:            
 
5. Is the claim pending?      YES  NO 
 
6. Was there a judgment or settlement?    YES  NO 
 
7. What was the amount and date of the judgment or settlement?         
 
8. What amount was attributable to you, your insurance company, or your employer?     

                
 
 
I certify that the information I have provided is correct to the best of my knowledge. 
 
 
 
                
Signature         Date 



 

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

 
Why is a training license necessary? 

Colorado law requires all physicians accepted into training programs in this state to have, at a minimum, a 
physician-training license. You may not work in a training program in Colorado without a training 
license. 

 
Are there any exceptions to the training license? 

Yes, there are exceptions. First, if you hold a full, active Colorado medical license, you do not need a 
training license. Second, if you are completing a Colorado training rotation in an approved internship, 
residency or fellowship (as defined in Colorado law) that will last for no more than an aggregate period of 
60 days, you do not need to apply for a training license. Third, if you are doing a rural rotation in 
conjunction with a non-Colorado training program and will be in the rotation for less than 60 days. 

 
Are there further requirements for an out-of-state resident to do a Colorado rotation? 

Yes, the out-of-state residency program must be ACGME or AOA approved, the resident must be working 
under the responsible direction of a Colorado licensed physician, and the resident must meet the 
malpractice insurance requirements for Colorado. 

 
Can an applicant still apply if the program is not ACGME/AOA approved? 

Yes, but the program would need to also apply for and receive approval from the Board prior to the 
applicant’s application being reviewed. Applications to request approval of a non-ACGME/AOA program 
are available from the Board. 

 
Do I need to reapply if I change training programs? 

Yes, this license will be issued based on your acceptance into a specific program documented in your 
application. The only exception is if you are in a Preliminary Designated position and have matched into 
your subsequent program at the time of initial application. 

 
What is the deadline for submitting this application? 

A temporary permit may be issued upon notification from your training program of acceptance into the 
training program. If a completed application package is not received and approved within 60 days of 
the date you begin work in your training program, your temporary permit will expire. When your 
application is approved, your permit will convert to a training license. It will be the responsibility of the 
applicant to provide the Medical Board with a completed application package and fee in sufficient time to 
allow a two-week processing time prior to the end of the 60-day temporary period. 

 
Can I use this license to moonlight in a part time job? 

No, this training license is only valid for the training program indicated on the application. You must apply 
for and be approved by the Board for a full medical license with the Board should you wish to practice 
outside the designated training program. 

 
Do I need both a training license and a full medical license? 

No, upon issuance of a full medical license, your training license will immediately expire. 
 
Does the training permit or license allow me to write prescriptions? 

No, you may not write prescriptions, which will be filled, outside of your training institution. That is, 
prescription orders that are given to a patient to be filled at a retail pharmacy must be co-signed by a fully 
licensed attending physician. 

 
How do I know if I have been approved for a temporary permit to practice in a training program? 

Contact your training program to see if your name and the required attestation have been submitted to the 
Medical Board. If so, your 60-day temporary permit to practice will be mailed to you in care of the training 
program. You may also verify a Colorado credential on our website at 
www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices.  

 

http://www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/onlineservices
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