Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

Hazardous Waste
Remedial Action Plans (RAP)

Program Description

A Remedial Action Plan is a special form of a RCRA permit that authorizes the party
performing remedial action on a site of environmental contamination to treat, store or dispose
of hazardous remediation waste generated within or in close proximity to the contaminated
area. Remedial action is the effort to reduce site contamination to minimize health risks or
negative environmental impact. This may include cleanup, removal, containment, isolation or
treatment of hazardous substances released or threatened to be released into the
environment from a site.

Who Can Apply

The owner or operator of a facility that generates hazardous remediation wastes may request
approval for a Remedial Action Plan that authorizes the facility to treat, store or dispose of the
waste at the remediation waste management site.

Application Process

There is no formal application form for submittal of a Remedial Action Plan, but the
owner/operator must include specific information as required in the regulations, sign it and
submit the information to the Division for approval. The Remedial Action Plan application can
be a stand-alone document or be part of another document that includes information for other
activities at the waste management site. If the Remedial Action Plan is part of another
document, the components of the document to be included in the RAP must be clearly
identified.

Duration of Permit

Remedial Action Plans are issued for a fixed term not to exceed 10 years. They may be
renewed by the Division in fixed increments of no more than 10 years. The Division must
review any Remedial Action Plan for hazardous waste land disposal five years after the date
of issuance or re-issuance to determine if modifications are necessary.

Fees

Remedial Action Plans approved under this rule are subject to document review and

activity fees as described in Section 100.32 of the Colorado Hazardous Waste

Regulations. Time spent reviewing and approving remedial action plans, completion

reports and any other documents generated in response to the activities performed at the site
are subject to an hourly fee of $150 $105*. *Temporary fee reduction for calendar year 2012

Approved plans would also be subject to annual operating fees as described in Section
100.31(a)(1). This fee is to partially offset the cost of monitoring and compliance and is
based on the waste management method.

Public Participation

Public notice will be provided of the Division’s intention to approve or deny a Remedial Action
Plan application. The public will have at least 45 days to submit written comments on the
draft Plan or notice of intent to deny. If written opposition to the intent to approve or deny is
received by the Division within this comment period, the Division will hold an informal public
hearing to discuss issues relating to the application. The Division will respond to any
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significant comments raised during the public comment period or hearing before issuing a
final decision.

Statutes and Regulations
CRS 25-15-101 et. seq.
Colorado Hazardous Waste Regulations 6 CCR 1007-3 Section 100.27

Division Contact

Customer Technical Assistance
Telephone 303-692-3320

Toll-free 1-888-569-1831 ext 3320

Fax 303-759-5355

Email comments.hmwmd@state.co.us
Web www.cdphe.state.co.us/hm/
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